THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Love Power Peace

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
Love Power Peace
Love Power Peace


First release of 3-LP set as envisioned by James Brown Includes deluxe jacket with rare photos and liner notes by Alan Leeds Mastered from Brown's 1971 mixdown reels, unused until now James Brown's magnum opus! Love Power Peace is the sound of the Godfather and his youngblood J.B.'s (including Bootsy and Catfish Collins) electrifying a crazed Parisian audience on March 8, 1971. Sequenced and mixed by Brown himself for a planned triple album, the set was shelved when key band members departed before it could be issued. Here, for the first time, are the sides as intended, exactly as delivered by James Brown Productions to his label in 1971a 3-LP set with each disc mastered from the original mixdown reels, and each with a unique name, Love, Power and Peace! Brown and band rip through recent singles like "Sex Machine," "Super Bad," "Give It Up or Turnit a Loose" and "Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved" with a metronomic precision laid down by bassist Bootsy Collins and drummer Jabo Starks. "Ain't It Funky Now" formerly a slow, simmering groove is transformed into a fast, funky tour de force in which newbie Catfish Collins unleashes one of the most badass guitar solos ever, while a medley of three other Brown standards ("Papa's Got a Brand New Bag"/"I Got You (I Feel Good)"/"I Got the Feelin' ") blazes by faster than the Godfather of Soul's personal Learjet. Interspersed with just the right amount of slow numbers like "Georgia on My Mind," and including tracks from the show's supporting acts that were not included on the 1992 CD (which was a remixed, incomplete show), this document of the funk revolution features rare photos and liner notes by tour director Alan Leeds. The way to jump on board for a trip through James' world at the height of his career!


  1. Name
  2. Introduction
  3. Brother Rapp
  4. Aint It Funky
  5. Georgia On My Mind - Part I
  6. Georgia On My Mind - Part II
  7. Sunny
  8. Introduction: Bobby Bird
  9. Signed, Sealed and Delivered
  10. I Need Help - Part I
  11. Introduction: Vicki Anderson
  12. Dont Play It No More
  13. Yesterday
  14. Break and Introduction
  15. Dance & Its A New Day
  16. Bewildered - Part I
  17. Bewildered - Part II
  18. There Was A Time
  19. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine
  20. Try Me - Part I
  21. Try Me - Part II
  22. Papas Got A Brand New Bag
  23. I Got You
  24. I Got The Feelin
  25. Give it Up Or Turnit a Loose
  26. Its A Mans Mans Mans World
  27. Who Am I
  28. Please, Please, Please
  29. Get Up (I Feel Like Being A) Sex Machine
  30. Super Bad
  31. Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved
  32. Soul Power
  33. Get Up, Get Into it, Get Involved
  34. Audience Reaction
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock