THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

New Release

Girl From The North

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Girl From The North
Girl From The North


Lauren Housley is a young woman who packs the one-two punch of a powerhouse vocal and a story to tell. She returns with the long-awaited release of her third album, Girl From The North. Lauren's style remains grounded in the roots world, with a hint of one of her childhood influences "good Pop songwriting". Girl From The North showcases 10 songs written by Lauren and her husband and long-time musical collaborator Thomas Dibb, spanning a variety of styles from the ethereal Americana of "Stay Awake To Dream" and "Sing To Me" which Lauren describes as an 'adult lullaby', right through to the psychedelic-folk production of "Breakdown" and "Guaranteed Sunshine", a summery anthem reminiscent of early Sheryl Crow.

Wrapped in a fresh and eclectic sound, the central theme of the new record is one of rediscovering herself and her roots: "To move forward we sometimes have to go back. I wanted to prove to myself that it doesn't matter where you are in the world, you can make great music." Lauren confides, "Returning to my hometown of Rotherham a few years ago, after leaving at the age of 18, seemed like the most bizarre decision I'd ever made. It was never part of my 'plan' but it has in fact enabled me to reassess my life and career goals and move forward in a way that feels true to myself."


  1. Name
  2. Bless His Soul
  3. Guaranteed Sunshine
  4. What's Troubling You Child
  5. Sing To Me
  6. Breakdown
  7. Two Lovers Lost In Space
  8. This Ain't The Life
  9. Why Are We Making It So Hard?
  10. Stay Awake To Dream
  11. We're Not Backing Down
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock