THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Midnight Well

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Midnight Well
Midnight Well


Formed in the mid 1970's by Irish-American singer-songwriter Thom Moore, Midnight Well was composed of Moore, vocalist Janie Cribbs, guitarist Gerry O'Beirne (The Waterboys, Sharon Shannon Band, Patrick Street) and button accordionist Martin O'Connor (Boys of the Lough, De Danann). Midnight Well was similar to Moore's earlier group, Pumpkinhead, in that they also combined Irish traditional music with country, rock, and folkloric influences from all over the world. Midnight Well's unique sound is created by the variety of O'Beirne's guitar styles, Moore and Cribbs' vocal harmonies, and O'Connor's wistful accordion work. Originally released in 1977 on Mulligan Records, Midnight Well was the first and only release from the band and has become a cult classic in Irish music circles. Midnight Well features guest musicians Paul Barrett (trombone), Greg Boland (acoustic guitar), Fran Breen (drums, percussion), Robbie Brennan (percussion), Kevin Burke (fiddle), Shaun Davey (string machine), Keith Donald (sax), Pat Farrell (electric guitar), Garvan Gallagher (electric bass), Jolyon Jackson (piano, cello), Donal Lunny (bouzouki, fiddle, bodhran), Brian Masterson (electric bass), Dave McAmaney (piano) and Ciaran O'Braonain (double bass). Produced by Shaun Davey (who would later become known for his compositions for pipes and classical orchestra).


  1. Name
  2. Still Believing
  3. Saw You Running
  4. Make Yourself At Home (Lullabye For A Wayward Husband)
  5. Jesse's Friend
  6. Soldier On
  7. Wheel Of Fortune
  8. Rosy Painted Barge
  9. Nicky's Song
  10. The Mighty Turk
  11. Low, Low Northern Moon
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock