THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Prokofiev: Sonatas

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Prokofiev: Sonatas
Prokofiev: Sonatas


While Prokofiev's Violin Sonata No.1 was meant to sound "like wind in a cemetery", the Second Sonata, originally written for flute, is characterized more by cloudless skies and an absence of concerns. Both are dedicated to the legendary violinist, David Oistrakh, who played parts of the First Sonata at Prokofiev's funeral. On this recording, the Five Melodies serve as the transition between light and darkness. The work was originally a wordless vocalise written while Prokofiev was living in the USA. It was arranged for violin and piano during his years in Paris. Elise Båtnes began playing the violin at age four and debuted as soloist with Trondheim Symphony Orchestra four years later. She has been the leader of the Oslo Philharmonic Orchestra since 2006 and appears as soloist with leading orchestras and conductors around the world. She has five earlier recordings on the LAWO Classics label. Håvard Gimse is firmly established as one of Norway's leading musicians, with an expansive repertoire that includes over thirty piano concertos he has performed. He gives regular guest performances at Wigmore Hall in London and is in frequent demand as both soloist and chamber musician.


  1. Name
  2. Prokofiev - Violin Sonata No. 2 In D Major, Op. 94 - Moderato
  3. Presto
  4. Andante
  5. Allegro Con Brio
  6. 5 Mélodies, Op. 35 - Andante
  7. Lento, Ma Non Troppo
  8. Animato, Ma Non Allegro
  9. Andantino, Un Poco Scherzando
  10. Andante Non Troppo
  11. Violin Sonata No. 1 In F Minor, Op. 80 - Andante Assai
  12. Allegro Brusco
  13. Andante
  14. Allegrissimo
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite