THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Suga Top (180g Vinyl)

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
Suga Top (180g Vinyl)
Suga Top (180g Vinyl)


Double 180g LP release of 'Suga Top' by the Poogie Bell Band. Drummer Poogie Bell, who is the first choice percussionist in the bands of Marcus Miller and Erykah Badu, returns with a set that includes ingredients of funk and soul, blues and pop, all combined with the spirit of jazz. The CD version of the album is also included in the set.

'Suga Top' is the slang name for the district in Pittsburgh where Bell grew up listening to gospel and soul. This is also the background of most of the participating musicians - keyboard player Bobby Sparks, saxophonists Chris Hemmingway and Keith Anderson, and the acclaimed Jazz trumpeter Michael "Patches" Stewart - which makes a major contribution towards the authentic atmosphere of 'Suga Top'.

Over the course of a long career as side man Poogie Bell has worked with Tom Browne, Chaka Khan, David Sanborn and with eminent African musicians including Hugh Masekela, Miriam Makeba and Angélique Kidjo. These experiences have brought him, as an Afro-American musician, even closer to the polyrhythms of Africa.

Personnel: Poogie Bell (drums, drum programming, vocals, keyboards), Bobby Sparks (keyboards), Chris Hemmingway, Keith Anderson (saxophones), Michael "Patches" Stewart (trumpet), Claude Flowers (bass, keyboards), Brett Williams (keyboards) and others


  1. Name
  2. Creasy Chicken Scratch
  3. Without You
  4. Uncle Roy
  5. Earth
  6. Candy Bar
  7. Rain
  8. Hard To Find
  9. Other Side Of The Game
  10. This Sunday
  11. 95BPM
  12. Mr Blues 1
  13. Max & Winston
  14. One Love
  15. Haven't You Heard
  16. Mr. Blues 2
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock