THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Window

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
The Window
The Window


Double LP, 180-gram vinyl housed in a gatefold jacket with insert. 'The Window', an album of duets be between Cécile McLorin Salvant and pianist Sullivan Fortner, explores and extends the tradition of the piano-vocal duo and its expressive possibilities. With just Fortner's deft accompaniment to support McLorin Salvant, the two are free to improvise and rhapsodize, to play freely with time, harmony, melody and phrasing.

The world first learned of the incredible vocal artistry of Cécile McLorin Salvant when she won the prestigious 2010 Thelonious Monk International Jazz Competition. In just under the span of a decade she has evolved from a darling of jazz critics and fans, to a multi-GRAMMY® Award winner and a prescient, fearless voice in music today.

Thematically, 'The Window' is a meditative cycle of songs about the mercurial nature of love. The duo explores the theme across a wide repertory that includes Richard Rodgers and Stephen Sondheim, the inner-visionary Stevie Wonder, gems of French cabaret, and early Rhythm and Blues, alongside McLorin Salvant's brilliant, original compositions. Just as a window frames a view - revealing as much as it hides, connecting as much as it separates - each song on the album offers a shifting and discerning perspective on love's emotional complexity. McLorin Salvant sings of anticipation and joy, obsession and madness, torment and longing, tactics and coyness. 'The Window' traverses love's wide universe, from the pleasure of a lover's touch with its feelings of human communion, to the invisible masks we wear to hide from others and from ourselves.

Touched at every moment by McLorin Salvant's brilliance, The Window is a dazzling new release from an artist who is surely, to quote Duke Ellington, "beyond category."


  1. Name
  2. Visions
  3. One Step Ahead
  4. By Myself
  5. The Sweetest Sounds
  6. Ever Since The One I Love's Been Gone
  7. À Clef
  8. Obsession
  9. Wild Is Love
  10. J'ai L'Cafard
  11. Somewhere
  12. The Gentleman Is A Dope
  13. Trouble Is A Man
  14. Were Thine That Special Face
  15. I've Got Your Number
  16. Tell Me Why
  17. Everything I've Got Belongs To You
  18. The Peacocks
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock