THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Stripped Down In Memphis

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Stripped Down In Memphis
Stripped Down In Memphis


Stripped Down In Memphis is a collection of songs that comes from two sessions recorded in Memphis - The first was recorded in 1998 with Alabama bluesman Wild Child Butler after we reissued his release "Lickin' Gravy" in the same year - The second session is unreleased songs from Big Jack's "The Memphis Barbecue Sessions" recorded in 2000 with Kim Wilson on harmonica and released in 2002 (It would receive a WC Handy Award for Acoustic Album of the Year). Stripped Down In Memphis is an unvarnished and rich blues collection that features Big Jack Johnson on acoustic guitar, electric guitar, and the mandolin. Both Wild Child Butler and Kim Wilson play their harmonicas without amplification making for rich and honest accompaniment to Big Jack's playing and singing.

From 1996-2002 Big Jack Johnson recorded four albums for M.C. Records with numerous W.C. Handy nominations. He was born on July 30, 1940 and died on March 14, 2011. His career in the blues lasted over five decades.

Mark Carpentieri president of M.C. Records and producer of the album about Stripped Down In Memphis: I was so happy to discover these recordings. You get to see all of Big Jack in these recordings, his amazing playing, his humor, and creating some of the deepest blues you'll hear. Wild Child Butler was truly underrated during his time and these recordings prove that. As of Kim Wilson, he was able to create the tone and dynamics without the use of amplification and that's why he's regarded as a master of the instrument.


  1. Name
  2. Baby What You Want Me To Do
  3. Run Blues Run
  4. The Hucklebuck
  5. Aching All Over
  6. Part Time Love
  7. Alcohol
  8. See Me Coming
  9. Going To Norway
  10. The Hully Gully Twist

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite