THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Pinks & Blues

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Pinks & Blues
Pinks & Blues


Christina McMaster is on a mission: the bold, vivacious pianist has formed McMaster Records to release her innovative debut album - 'Pinks & Blues' - a compelling mix of contemporary classical, jazz and blues.

'Pinks & Blues' is a ground- breaking fusion of music, art and fashion, a testament to this remarkable musician's vision, energy and drive. Following previous collaborations with London Fashion Week at venues including the Royal Opera House, Christina is now joining forces with graduates of Central Saint Martins, including photographer/film-maker Barney McCann (whose work has been displayed in the V&A's major Alexander McQueen exhibition).

'Pinks & Blues' seamlessly merges American sound worlds and those influenced by its industrialism, pioneering spirit and ambition; it propels the listener into a thrilling musical landscape from spirituals and south sounds to foot-stomping New York dances and smoky jazz club scenes. Music by leading 20th-century composers Ligeti and Rzewski is deftly placed alongside Gershwin, Nina Simone and Bill Evans, and the pianist has also commissioned new works from exciting young British composers Richard Bullen and Freya Waley-Cohen. On two tracks Christina is joined by trumpter Jay Phelps, percussionist Sami Tammilehto and bassist Mark Lewandowski.

Personnel: Christina McMaster (piano), Jay Phelps (trumpet - 6,10), Sami Tammilehto (percussion - 6), Mark Lewandowski (double bass - 6)


  1. Name
  2. Excursions Op.20 No.1
  3. Etude No.8 Fem
  4. Peace Piece
  5. Etude No.5 Arc-En-Ciel (Rainbow)
  6. 42nd Street Stomp
  7. Scenes From A Deserted Jazz Club
  8. Winnsboro Cotton Mill Blues
  9. Excursions Op.20 No.2
  10. Hallelujah Time
  11. Don't Smoke In Bed
  12. Southern Leaves
  13. It Ain't Necessarily So
  14. Songs Of Childhood
  15. Southern Lament: Nobody Knows The Troubles Ive Seen
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide