Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

G. F. Handel Organ Concertos Op 4 (arr. By Samuel De Lange)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Fat Double (a 2.5cm thick jewel case, fits several
Catalog Number:
G. F. Handel Organ Concertos Op 4  (arr. By Samuel De Lange)
G. F. Handel Organ Concertos Op 4  (arr. By Samuel De Lange)


Handel's successes and failures as an independent entrepreneur in mercantile London are legendary. His hard-fought rivalry with his colleague Porpora had artistic consequences amply documented in the development of his operas and oratorios. He then hit on the idea to present concertos on the organ to his public as entertainment during the intermissions and scored a sensational success. Even Porpora's star-studded ensemble of vocalists including the famous Farinelli as a powerful drawing card could no longer compete with him. After four seasons the Italians quit the field. During later generations Handel's organ concertos inspired the production of highly imaginative arrangements. What Samuel de Lange (completely forgotten today, unjustly so) did with the sources about 150 years later is now for the first time being presented on the historic Furtwängler & Hammer organ in Lüneburg. The great respect shown by de Lange for his masterful source material is reflected even in his musical text: he precisely noted in the original when the organ was to play and when the orchestra was to do the same. On a three-manual instrument, like the one available to de Lange in Rotterdam, the organist could produce a genuine "concerto" - with solo and tutti in alternation - just as had once been Handel's practice.


  1. Name
  2. Concerto Op. 4/1 In G Minor
  3. Concerto Op. 4/2 - B Flat Major
  4. Concerto Op. 4/3 - G Minor
  5. Concerto Op. 4/4 - F Major
  6. Concerto Op. 4/5 F Major
  7. Concerto Op. 4/6 B Flat Major
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite