THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

New Release

Alexander Glazunov: Complete String Quartets

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Box Set
Catalog Number:
Alexander Glazunov: Complete String Quartets
Alexander Glazunov: Complete String Quartets


The renowned Utrecht String Quartet delivered a long overdue and critically acclaimed redemption with their complete recording of Alexander Glazunov's string quartets. These ground-breaking recordings are now available for the first time in an attractive 5-CD box set - a feast for friends of chamber music, and a treat for all those who seek to discover both the sophisticated and the culinary off the beaten track.

The 5 CDs represent a long composer's life, from the exuberant youthful works of the "new Samson", as the enthusiastic St. Petersburg audience dubbed the 17-year-old highly gifted composer, to the deeply penetrating masterpieces of the celebrated orchestrator, contrapuntalist and university teacher.

Glazunov combines traditional Russian with the refinement of Western compositional art like no other: almost folk-like themes meet oriental flair, rhythmic freedom is combined with ingenious shaping.

This set realises the survey of his music, celebrated by critics internationally.


  1. Name
  2. Glazunov: String Quartet No. 3 Op.26 In G Major
  3. String Quartet No. 5 Op. 70 In D Minor
  4. String Quartet No. 2 Op. 10 In F Major
  5. Elegy For Strings Op. 105
  6. String Quartet No. 4 Op. 64 In A Minor
  7. Suite Op. 35
  8. String Quartet Op. 39
  9. String Quartet No. 6 Op. 106
  10. Five Novelettes Op. 15
  11. String Quartet No. 1 Op. 1
  12. String Quartet No. 7 Op. 107
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite