THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Reger And His Contemporaries Brahms, Bruckner, Reger, Schönb

Super Audio CD
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Super Jewel Case (SACD)
Catalog Number:
Reger And His Contemporaries Brahms, Bruckner, Reger, Schönb
Reger And His Contemporaries Brahms, Bruckner, Reger, Schönb


Commemorating the hundredth anniversary of Regers death, the prizewinning OPUS VOCALE chamber choir considers his compositions along with works by his contemporaries Brahms, Bruckner, and Schönberg and explores surprising interconnections between them while showing the masterful chromaticist in an entirely new light. The program ranges from Advent and Christmas through the Lenten and Easter seasons to the end of the church year and its memorial days. Reger would have liked this combination: raised as a Catholic, he repeatedly displayed his fascination with the personal piety of Lutheran hymns, and his correction of the proof pages of the Eight Sacred Songs occupied him even on his deathbed. Volker Hedtfeld relies on superbly educated female and male vocalists from his OPUS VOCALE chamber choir for this demanding project, and from Brahmss Fest- und Gedenksprüche to Schönbergs Peace on Earth the young ensemble displays its flexibility, majestic sound, and versatility from its most convincing side a choral lesson and sheer listening pleasure!


  1. Name
  2. Max Reger (1873-1916) Morgengesang Op. 138,2
  3. Unser Lieben Frauen Traum Op. 138,4
  4. Adventlied (Es Kommt Ein Schiff Geladen)
  5. Weihnachtslied (Schlaf Mein Kindelein)
  6. Neujahrslied (Das Alte Jahr Vergangen Ist)
  7. Anton Bruckner (1824-1896) Christus Factus Est
  8. Max Reger (1873-1916) Schlachtgesang Op. 138,7
  9. Kreuzfahrerlied Op. 138,5
  10. Wir Glauben An Einen Gott Op. 138,8
  11. Ein Alt Lob- Und Freudenlied: (Christ Ist Erstanden)
  12. Johannes Brahms (1833-1897) Unsere Väter Hofften Auf Dich Op. 109,1
  13. Wenn Ein Starker Gewappneter Op. 109,2
  14. Wo Ist Ein So Herrlich Volk Op. 109,3
  15. Max Reger (1873-1916) Der Mensch Lebt Und Bestehet Nur Eine Kleine Zeit Op. 138,1
  16. Das Agnus Dei Op. 138,6
  17. Anton Bruckner (1824-1896) Ave Maria
  18. Arnold Schönberg (1874-1951) Friede Auf Erden Op. 13
  19. Max Reger (1873-1916) Nachtlied Op. 138,3
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite