THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Friedrich Wilhelm Markull: Organ Works Vol. 2

Super Audio CD
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Super Jewel Case (SACD)
Catalog Number:
Friedrich Wilhelm Markull: Organ Works Vol. 2
Friedrich Wilhelm Markull: Organ Works Vol. 2


Friedrich Wilhelm Markull began his career as a child prodigy and was appointed to the post of organist at Danzigs magnificent St. Marys Church when he was only twenty years old. Andrzej Szadejkos second CD featuring compositions written by the industrious Baltic composer for himself and his Danzig pupils once again brings to light a previously virtually unknown chapter of music history. Markull had a great influence on Johannes Brahms, who received inspiration in Danzig not only for his own organ compositions but also for the German Requiem. The organ in St. Marys Church, an instrument with more than fifty stops on three manuals, offered ample opportunities for the realization of the romantic organ sound. Andrzej Szadejko has found an outstanding replacement for the early romantic Danzig instrument, which was completely destroyed during World War II, in the very expertly restored Buchholz organ in Stralsunds St. Nicholas Church. Whether for the small form of the chorale setting, the classical trio texture, or the grand organ sonata of Mendelssohnian stamp, Szadejko has selected registrations all of them documented in the lavish booklet supplementing this Super Audio CD filling the magnificent church interior with splendid sound. In three-dimensional sound the listening experience is simply tremendous: with the organ sound all around us, the perfect illusion of the vast acoustic space of the great Baltic cathedral is reproduced.


  1. Name
  2. Nachspiel Nr. 1 H-moll (o.Op.)
  3. Trio Op. 124, 1
  4. Trio Op. 124, 2
  5. Nachspiel Op. 62, 4
  6. Choräle Aus Op. 123 Heft 1 Nr. 1-12: Allein Gott In Der Höhb018 Sei Ehr
  7. Christus Der Ist Mein Leben
  8. Ein Feste Burg Ist Unser Gott
  9. Es Ist Das Heil Uns Kommen Her
  10. Es Wolle Gott Uns Gnädig Sein
  11. Freu Dich Sehr, O Meine Seele
  12. Herzlich Lieb Hab Ich Dich, O Herr
  13. Herzlich Thut Mich Verlangen
  14. Jesu Meine Zuversicht
  15. Jesus Meines Lebens Leben
  16. Lobe Den Herrn
  17. Lobt Gott Ihr Christen Allzugleich
  18. Trio Op. 124, 5
  19. Andante.
  20. Nachspiel Op. 62, 5
  21. Sonata Op. 56 - Allegro Maestoso
  22. Andantino
  23. Finale. Vivace
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite