THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Headed South

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Headed South
Headed South


An Americana tour de force with bona fide Southern swagger, Martha Fields announces her new album "HEADED SOUTH". Martha's last two albums were in the top 10 best of the year albums on the EUROAMERICANA CHART. With her musical roots running deep in Appalachia, Texas and Oklahoma, her sound reflects this diverse DNA charting her own Americana route.

Illuminating her past and present via 12 songs and 2 continents, Martha wrote, self-produced and recorded this 'straight from the heart' opus while in lock-down in the SW of France - with her band of hotshot pickers and then mixed in Nashville by Sean Sullivan (Butcher Shoppe Studio). This Texas Troubadour embodies a hundred years of Country, Folk, Bluegrass and Rock'n'Roll history, in a spirit of authenticity and palpable sincerity! At a young age, she shared the stage with Ricky Skaggs and Merle Travis and later even some whiskey soaked nights with Gus Hardin and the rest is history. For the last 6 years, Martha has toured extensively across Europe from the UK to France, Spain, Netherlands, Belgium, Italy, Switzerland and even Lithuania. She's played some of the most prestigious Country/Americana festivals and stages across Europe such as Southern Fried Perth, Scotland, Country2Country, 02, London, UK, Craponne sur Arzon, France, Glasgow Americana and many others. Martha's seemingly absinthe tinged vocals and her dauntless songwriting are complimented by twangy guitars, dobro, banjo, mandolin, violin, Hammond Organ, piano, even some brass.

A Southern Gothic Americana tapestry, Martha's voice and songs are intimate yet powerful taking you on a twangy emotional rollercoaster ride through a range of country, blues, folk and bluegrass steered by a band with extremely impressive acoustic chops.

"Everything we love" - Rolling Stone

"Classic Country twang and powerful vocals" - Maverick

"Impressive" - The Herald

"Tremendous album, 'Country music with an edge"- American Roots


  1. Name
  2. Headed South
  3. Let The Phoenix Rise
  4. In My Garden
  5. Lavada's Lounge
  6. Death Rattle Of Love
  7. Hillbilly Babylon
  8. Do More Right
  9. Yellow Roses
  10. Souvenir
  11. High Shelf Mama
  12. Bad Boy
  13. J'entends Siffler Le Train/500 Miles

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock