THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

Real People

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Real People
Real People


22 years after he was introduced to the world with 'Send Them' - the landmark left-field 12-inch that launched the Solesides label b/w DJ Shadow's 'Entropy' - Lyrics Born has made some of the most organic, original, and adventurous music of his entire career. While touring with Latyrx last, he made time for an extended stay in a place that he's long admired: America's first and last real-deal music town, New Orleans. LB stocked up on pads and pens, rented a cosy house three blocks from the famous Maple Leaf Bar, and booked two weeks' worth of sessions with Galactic guys Robert Mercurio and Ben Ellman at their Uptown studio. Then they let it rip. Funk has always been a part of what Lyrics Born does - his unique vocal swagger dishes out melody and rhyme with equal aplomb. But never has he evoked the idiom so directly or made an album that feels so alive. He turned the production over entirely (also a first) to his NOLA colleagues, giving them space to do what they do best, and him the freedom to write. Mercurio and Ellman wrangled a host of talent to execute the vision: Trombone Shorty, Ivan Neville, the Preservation Jazz Hall Band, Corey Glover (Living Colour), Corey Henry (Rebirth Brass Band), David Shaw (The Revivalists), and Billy Martin. Amidst all that quirk, soul, and raw talent, LB was reborn.


  1. Name
  2. Real People
  3. Chest Wide (feat. David Shaw Of The Revivalists)
  4. $ir Racha
  5. All Hail The Queen (Ma Belle Reine) (feat. Ivan Neville Of Dumpstaphunk)
  6. Rock-Rock-Away (feat. Galactic)
  7. Holy Matrimony
  8. Around The Bend (feat. Ivan Neville Of Dumpstaphunk)
  9. Good Riddance
  10. WTF? (feat. Galactic)
  11. Mr. D.I.L.L.I.G.A.F. (feat. Corey Henry Of Rebirth Brass Band/Treme Funket)
  12. In Confidence
  13. That's It! (Real People Remix) (feat. Preservation Hall Jazz Band)
  14. 2nd Act (feat. Trombone Shorty & Corey Glover Of Living Colour)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock