THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

With A Little Help From My Friends

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
With A Little Help From My Friends
With A Little Help From My Friends


Guitarist Volker Kriegel was one of Europe's finest jazz-rock guitarists and is still remembered for his tasteful contributions to recordings by vibraphonist Dave Pike and the United Jazz and Rock Ensemble. 'With a Little Help from My Friends' was his first studio album and was recorded in 1968 in two sessions including four tracks produced by Passport's Klaus Doldinger. The recordings have been unavailable for over forty years and are available on (digitally remastered) CD for the first time.

Originally only thirty-two minutes long, the album reflects its era by including two Lennon & McCartney songs and is now enhanced by nearly fifty minutes of bonus material from the same year. This includes superb live performances from Hamburg's Jazzhouse and Frankfurt's 11th Deutsches Jazz Festival where, on one track, Kriegel's quartet is joined by American clarinettist (and sometime World Music pioneer) Tony Scott to superb effect.

Personnel: Volker Kriegel (guitar), Gustl Mayer (tenor saxophone), Tony Scott (clarinet), Claudio Szenkar (vibraphone), Günter Lenz, Peter Trunk (bass), Günter Hermkes (bass), Cees See, Peter Baumeister, Ralf Hübner (drums)


  1. Name
  2. With a Little Help from My Friends
  3. Blues for Instance
  4. Norwegian Wood
  5. Traffic Jam
  6. Morandi
  7. Na Na Imboro
  8. Interpunctuation
  9. Teaming Up
  10. Vian-De
  11. Spanish Soul
  12. Na Na Imboro
  13. Nina's Dance (with Tony Scott)
  14. Interpunctuation
  15. Na Na Imboro
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock