THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

The Ties That Bind

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Ties That Bind
The Ties That Bind


5 years on from their hat trick of BBC Radio 2 Folk Award nominations, Mawkin return this year with their boldest album to date. 'The Ties That Bind' is a veritable romp of rousing chorus songs and ballsy folk tunes played with all the verve and conviction you have come to expect from this quintet of cheeky Essex boys. The premise of the album was clear explains guitarist and singer David Delarre (Eliza Carthy, TRED) "Essentially, this albums only preconceived purpose was to simply let you have fun while trying your damnedest to find some deeper meaning. We're not making a statement apart from don't hurt yourself while you're dancing in the kitchen." The songs themselves are unapologetic, gritty tales of being tied to something, somewhere or someone, punctuated with the invigorating instrumentals that have become the trademark of Mawkin's sound. Expect to hear rousing songs of rebellion from David Delarre (Eliza Carthy, Tred) underpinned by the frenetic fiddling fingers of James Delarre (Saul Rose & James Delarre, Topette) and virtuosic bellowing of Nick Cooke's melodeon (Kate Rusby, Jim Moray) held together by a solid rhythm section with Danny Crump on Bass and Lee Richardson (Diverted, Extreme Music) on Drums. 'The Ties That Bind' is the latest step in the bands career that has seen them featured on BBC and ITV, live sets on BBC Radio 2's Bob Harris show and BBC Radio 4's Clive Anderson's 'Loose Ends' show as well as appearing at a number of high profile festivals; Cambridge Folk Festival, Larmer Tree Festival and Shrewsbury Festival. **** "Invigorating, highly inventive" Q Magazine Mawkin are: David Delarre Vocals and Guitars Jamie Delarre Vocals and Fiddle Nick Cooke Melodeon and Backing Vocals Danny Crump Bass Guitar and Backing Vocals Lee Richardson Drums and Backing Vocals


  1. Name
  2. I Can Hew
  3. Jolly Well Drunk
  4. Song On The Times
  5. Birds Upon A Tree
  6. The Frenchy Set
  7. Wreckers
  8. Searching For Lambs
  9. Duo
  10. My Love Farewell
  11. Shanghai Brown
  12. Young May Moon
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock