THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Arcadia Lost - Music Vaughan Williams & Benjamin Britten

Super Audio CD
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Arcadia Lost - Music Vaughan Williams & Benjamin Britten
Arcadia Lost - Music Vaughan Williams & Benjamin Britten


Arcadia Lost presents a feast for lovers of English music, featuring three Ralph Vaughan Williams' masterpieces and one of Benjamin Britten's in performances given by, mostly, Australian musicians. Renowned British conductor Mark Wigglesworth directs the Sydney Symphony Orchestra in three of the works, all recorded live at Sydney Opera House. The viola soloist in Flos Campi is Roger Benedict with the choir Cantillation, while Michael Dauth is the violinist in The Lark Ascending. Following an explosive performance of Britten's Sinfonia da Requiem, the final work is Vaughan Williams' song-cycle On Wenlock Edge for tenor, piano and string quartet, performed by Steve Davislim with Benjamin Martin and the Hamer Quartet. The glistening solo violin of Michael Dauth, concert master of the Sydney Symphony Orchestra, captures the lark's swirling flight in Vaughan Williams' hugely popular The Lark Ascending. In the composer's much less well-known Flos Campi ("flower of the field"), the SSO's principal viola Roger Benedict gives glorious voice to this most passionate music for viola, chorus and orchestra. The Song of Solomon, one of the greatest love poems in all literature, is at the heart of this evocative piece. In On Wenlock Edge tenor Steve Davislim brings the greatest tenderness and drama to the six settings of A.E. Houseman's A Shropshire Lad poems, which in Michael Kennedy's description in the booklet notes "tell of unrequited or unfaithful love and of soldiers marching away to die in foreign fields". The brilliant young Hamer Quartet and pianist Benjamin Martin vividly underscore the tumultuous emotions of the work. Personnel: Michael Dauth (violin), Roger Benedict (viola), Cantillation (Michael Black, chorus master), Sydney Symphony Orchestra, Mark Wigglesworth (conductor), Steve Davislim (tenor), Benjamin Martin (piano), Hamer Quartet


  1. Name
  2. Ralph Vaughan Williams: The Lark Ascending
  3. Flos Campi
  4. Benjamin Britten: Sinfonia da Requiem
  5. Ralph Vaughan Williams: On Wenlock Edge (1906-1909) for tenor, piano and string quartet, I. On Wenlo
  6. II. From Far, From Eve and Morning
  7. III. Is My Team Ploughing?
  8. IV. Oh, When I was in Love with You
  9. V. Bredon Hill
  10. VI. Clun
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide