THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Bohemian Rhapsody - Smetana, Dvorak & Mercury/Buc

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Bohemian Rhapsody - Smetana, Dvorak & Mercury/Buc
Bohemian Rhapsody - Smetana, Dvorak & Mercury/Buc


To follow up to their critically-acclaimed debut recording of Australian Piano Trios on Melba, the Benaud Trio now immerse themselves in two pieces at the core of the piano trio repertoire: Smetana's magnificent Trio, op.15 and Dvorák's beloved Dumky Trio, op. 90. And they conclude with one of their immaculate concert encores, Nicholas Buc's reworking of Freddie Mercury's 'Bohemian Rhapsody', recorded here for the first time.

Dvorák's Dumky Trio was one of the first pieces that Benaud Trio performed together as an ensemble and has endured as one of their favourites. Its melodic richness and unabashed romanticism are cherished by the players, Amir Farid (piano), Ewen Bramble (violin), and Lachlan Bramble (cello).

The Benaud Trio is known for exploring a wide range of the musical canon, combining well-known repertoire with the unusual: their version of Led Zeppelin's 'Stairway to Heaven' remains an all-time YouTube favourite for piano trio.

The Trio leapt to prominence on winning the Piano Trio prize at the 2005 Australian Chamber Music Competition. As distinguished Australian composer Ross Edwards says, "Benaud Trio is just what Australian music needs - excellence combined with youthful vitality and a dedication to showcasing the new and refreshing the old."

Personnel: Amir Farid (piano), Ewen Bramble (cello), Lachlan Bramble (violin)


  1. Name
  2. Bedrich Smetana: Piano Trio in G minor Op.15, Moderato assai
  3. Allegro ma non agitato
  4. Finale: Presto
  5. Antonín Dvorák: Piano Trio in E minor 'Dumky' Op 90 B166, Lento maestoso
  6. Poco adagio
  7. Andante
  8. Andante moderato
  9. Allegro
  10. Lento maestoso
  11. Freddie Mercury: Bohemian Rhapsody (arr Nicholas Buc)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock