THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Stockport To Memphis

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Stockport To Memphis
Stockport To Memphis


Stockport To Memphis is the superb new album from Barb Jungr, one of the world's foremost interpreters of song. Variously described by critics as magnificent, mesmerising and magical, Barb Jungr has built a formidable reputation as an international live performer and recording artiste. She has perfected the art of interpretation to such a level that listeners are often astonished to discover that well-known songs that they thought they knew have been wonderfully transformed and very often elevated when Barb weaves her magic spell. Stockport To Memphis marks a significant new direction for Barb as she has included five of her own songs in the collection, which also features her new arrangements of songs by Sam Cooke, Joni Mitchell, Neil Young, Rod Argent, Mike Scott, Hank Williams, Tom Waits and, of course, Bob Dylan. Barb Jungr has never been to Memphis. But as a teenage girl in 1960s Stockport, she nurtured a longing for what it represented; the sweet soul music she danced to in clubs at night, and its sense of a bigger, more beautiful world than the northern industrial town she couldn't wait to leave (as embodied by the title-track and stunning album opener). The album charts a metaphorical journey, through Barb's life and self-discovery.


  1. Name
  2. Stockport To Memphis
  3. Change Is Gonna Come
  4. River
  5. Old Man
  6. New Life
  7. Urban Fox
  8. (S)He's Not Here
  9. Fisherman's Blues
  10. Lay Lady Lay
  11. Sun Set To Break Your Heart
  12. Till My Broken Heart Begins To Mend
  13. Lost On The River
  14. Way Down In The Hole
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock