THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

This House Will Stand The Best Of Oysterband 1998 - 2015

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
This House Will Stand  The Best Of Oysterband 1998 - 2015
This House Will Stand  The Best Of Oysterband 1998 - 2015


'This House Will Stand : The Best of Oysterband 1998 2015' is a 2-CD, 29 track collection comprising 15 tracks chosen by the band from their last 6 studio albums (including 'Ragged Kingdom', their multi-award-winning reunion collaboration with June Tabor) and 14 unreleased tracks, rare B-sides, live cuts, demos and alternative versions of other Oysterband songs.

Oysterband has been one of the most consistently creative folk and rock bands of the past 38 years. Since their origins in 1977-1978 as the Oyster Ceilidh Band and their subsequent growth and constant development over the decades (sometimes wearing a more rock music mantle, sometimes a more folk/trad one), their musical vision has always burned bright. Following the critical and commercial success of 'Ragged Kingdom' (2011) and 'Diamonds On The Water' (2014), the band has been working on other projects including John Jones 'Never Stop Moving', story-telling tours by founder members Jones, Ian Telfer (fiddle) and Alan Prosser (guitar) as Oysters3, and the rebirth of their annual Big Session Festival in Buxton. This core membership of the band has been instrumental in the continuity of the Oysterband sound throughout these permutations and changes.

This new collection of recordings is drawn from one of the band's most creative and successful periods to date and offers not only key recordings but demos and alternative takes that offer a further, and essential, insight into the work of one of the folk scene's most vital forces.


  1. Name
  2. The Soul's Electric
  3. Where The World Divides
  4. Spirit Of Dust
  5. Uncommercial Song
  6. Blackwaterside
  7. Street Of Dreams
  8. Walking Down The Road With You
  9. Love Will Tear Us Apart
  10. Dancing As Fast As I Can (Single Edit)
  11. Here Comes The Flood
  12. A Clown's Heart
  13. Rise Above
  14. A River Runs
  15. On The Edge
  16. Bright Morning Star
  17. I Built This House
  18. Ways Of Holding On (Single Edit)
  19. Jail Song Two (Live)
  20. Never Left (Alt. Version)
  21. Hangman Cry
  22. And As For You (Alt. Version)
  23. The Sailor's Bonnet
  24. Mississippi Summer (Alt. Version)
  25. Scattergun
  26. Bold Riley (Alt. Version)
  27. I Once Loved A Lass
  28. She's Moved On (Demo)
  29. Long Dark Street (Alt. Version)
  30. The Cornish Farewell Shanty (Demo)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock