THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

To Drink The Rainbow: An Anthology 1988 - 2019

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Slip Sleeve (CD or Vinyl)
Catalog Number:
To Drink The Rainbow: An Anthology 1988 - 2019
To Drink The Rainbow: An Anthology 1988 - 2019


Tanita Tikaram celebrates her 50th birthday with the release of a brand new collection of 14 songs spanning over thirty years and nine albums.To Drink The Rainbow is the third release on Needle Mythology - the label co-founded by record collector, music writer and broadcaster Pete Paphides. Of the release, Pete says, "Tanita is best-known for Twist In My Sobriety, but in the ensuing decades, she's amassed an incredible body of work. As she's matured, her curiosity and enthusiasm have helped shape a very different artist to the teenage Virginia Woolf obsessive a lot of people remember from those early Top of the Pops appearances. No-one else sounds like her; and when it comes to direct, emotionally disarming melodies, she's one of my all-time favourites."Tanita collaborated closely on the selection of songs for the record, providing notes for each of the twelve songs on the record. Standouts include Only The Ones We Love, featuring beautiful harmonies from Jennifer Warnes, who reached out to Tanita after hearing her multi-million selling debut album Ancient Heart; the startlingly raw intimacies of My Love and the title track, of which she says, "There's a scene Fantasia where the cherubs drink the rainbow. The symbolism of the rainbow touches on a lot of different things that are close to me."To Drink The Rainbow is the third release on Needle Mythology, following the label's universally acclaimed expanded reissues of Stephen Duffy's I Love My Friends and Ian Broudie's Tales Told. As with those records, the artwork of To Drink The Rainbow is unique to this release. The songs included on To Drink The Rainbow were specially mastered by Miles Showell at Abbey Road for 180g vinyl. The album has been pressed at the old EMI pressing plant in Hayes Middlesex, now operated by Vinyl Factory.To Drink The Rainbow will be released on gatefold vinyl and CD. The vinyl pressing will come witha two-track seven-inch EP featuring two songs previously unavailable on vinyl: an acoustic version of Ancient Heart, and an earl


  1. Name
  2. My Love
  3. Play Me Again
  4. Cool Waters
  5. Only The Ones We Love
  6. Trouble
  7. I Think Of You - E Penso A Te
  8. The Way You Move
  9. Love Is Just A Word
  10. Amore Si
  11. To Drink The Rainbow (Acoustic)
  12. Canâ€t Go Back
  13. Every Day Is New
  14. Glass Love Train (L.A. Version)
  15. Valentine Heart (Acoustic)
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock