THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

To Whom Who Buys A Record

Long Play Vinyl
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Gate Fold Vinyl
Catalog Number:
To Whom Who Buys A Record
To Whom Who Buys A Record


The intensity of interaction is what makes To Whom Who Buys A Record, the second studio album from Norwegian drummer Gard Nilssen's Acoustic Unity trio, special.

Acoustic Unity's style celebrates tradition while revitalising it. Nilssen, bassist Petter Eldh and saxophonist André Roligheten share, for instance, Rollins' love of melody and rhythmic playfulness. They also share Ayler's ecstatic, cranked up, Dionysian fervour. Among the incidentals, Roligheten taps into Roland Kirk's legacy, blowing tenor and soprano simultaneously on two tracks. There are other echoes from history. The music moves between the exuberant and the reflective, the raucous and the mellifluous, the rugged and the delicate. Wherever it alights, it is balm for the soul.

Acoustic Unity's studio debut, the acclaimed Firehouse, was the first occasion the trio came together. Four years and over a hundred gigs later, the connections between the musicians run deeper. "It feels like a perfect set-up now," says Nilssen. "It is not always easy keeping a lineup together for extended periods. But when you do, it takes the music higher."


  1. Name
  2. Cherry Man
  3. Acoustic Unity
  4. Masakråke
  5. Omkalfatring
  6. Broken Beauty
  7. Rat On A Skateboard
  8. Less Dense
  9. Dancing Shadows
  10. Bøtteknott
  11. Elastic Circle
  12. Jon
  13. Skienselva
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock