THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Robert Schumann & Norbert Burgmüller

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Robert Schumann & Norbert Burgmüller
Robert Schumann & Norbert Burgmüller


Acclaimed pianist Alexander Lonquich has long been intrigued by the complex interrelationships between Schumann and Burgmuller and their circle of influences. Lonquich brings his unique and scintillating insight to this performance of Schumann's Piano Concerto in A minor and The Colibri Ensemble bring their finesse to Burgmüller's Symphony No.2 in D major, Op.11.

The lives of Robert Schumann and Norbert Burgmüller intersect in fascinating ways. Both were born in 1810, and both spent significant periods of their lives in Düsseldorf, which is how Schumann came to orchestrate the Scherzo of Burgmüller's Symphony No. 2 in D major, Op. 11. The conversational principles of the concerto's first movement are taken even further in the central Intermezzo, in which Schumann creates a sense of intimate dialogue enhanced by the delicate, almost chamber-like treatment of his orchestral forces. We then tumble effortlessly into the finale, which is full of subtle touches that reveal a composer at the peak of his powers: there are no perfunctory finale fireworks, but rather a movement of quirky good humour and perfectly-judged invention.

Burgmüller's Second Symphony unfolds with charming ease, undulating between genial lyricism and stormier interjections reminiscent of Beethoven's 'Pastoral' Symphony. The work culminates in the Scherzo, a tussle between a refined dance, perhaps representing the civilised aspects of humanity, and sudden torrents of sound reflecting the irrepressible forces of Nature.

Alexander Lonquich is joined on this disc by The Colibrì Ensemble, a chamber orchestra which performs regularly in Pescara, Italy, where it has its own concert season. Founded in 2013 by Andrea Gallo, this vibrant collection of musicians has already forged strong relationships with a host of outstanding artists, including a special connection with Alexander Lonquich, who is now a regular guest each season.


  1. Name
  2. Robert Schumann - Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 54 - I. Allegro Affettuoso
  3. Robert Schumann - Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 54 - II. Intermezzo
  4. Robert Schumann - Piano Concerto In A Minor, Op. 54 - III. Allegro Vivace
  5. Norbert Burgmüller - Symphony No. 2 In D Major, Op. 11 - I. Allegro Moderato
  6. Norbert Burgmüller - Symphony No. 2 In D Major, Op. 11 - II. Andante
  7. Norbert Burgmüller - Symphony No. 2 In D Major, Op. 11 - III. Scherzo. Presto
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock