THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

The Forward (Towards Equality) Suite

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Forward (Towards Equality) Suite
The Forward (Towards Equality) Suite


For his sixth recording on Origin Records, composer Anthony Branker has enlisted a powerhouse version of his Word Play group, featuring saxophonists David Binney and Ralph Bowen and trombonist Conrad Herwig.

The group also includes pianist Jim Ridl, bassist Kenny Davis, drummer Donald Edwards, conguero Renato Thoms, vocalist Alison Crockett, as well as sixteen 5th Grade students from Martin Luther King, Jr. Elementary in Piscataway, New Jersey providing spoken word contributions. With music inspired by personal reflections on what America means to him as a first-generation American; what it has meant to family members who immigrated to the U.S. from the West Indies; and what it might mean to future generations of his family, Branker has created a twelve-movement extended work that is reflective of the qualities he sees as comprising the essence of America and the spirit of its people. Another impressive and inspiring work from the pen of this thought-provoking composer.

Personnel: Anthony Branker (composer & musical director), David Binney (alto saxophone), Ralph Bowen (tenor & soprano saxophones, flute), Conrad Herwig (trombone), Jim Ridl (piano & Fender Rhodes), Kenny Davis (acoustic & electric bass), Donald Edwards (drums), Renato Thoms (congas) Alison Crockett (vocals & spoken word)


  1. Name
  2. Preamble
  3. Forward
  4. Forgotten Peoples
  5. Equality
  6. We, The People (Part 1)
  7. If We Must Die
  8. Our Dreams
  9. We, The People (Part 2)
  10. Speak to Your Silence (Our Voices Matter)
  11. Slave States
  12. We, The People (Part 3)
  13. Hope
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite