THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Soul On The Real Side: Vol.7

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Soul On The Real Side: Vol.7
Soul On The Real Side: Vol.7


VOLUME 7 carries on the Real Side tradition of collating classic crossover soul, rare original 45s, new-to-CD nuggets and oddities from the infinitely strange world of Northern Soul. Seasoned southern soul man Grover Mitchell opens the set with his sublime 1971 recording "What Hurts", co-written and produced by Len Barry for John Madara Enterprises. Darrow Fletcher, well known to the Northern fraternity, follows with his rarity "It's No Mistake", recorded for Ray Charles' appropriately named Crossover Records. More floorfillers follow c/o Bobby Sheen with his irrepressible "Something New To Do", Percy And Them, Al Hudson, Richard Searling's Wigan spin "Love Is A Serious Business" plus a little Mecca magic from Magic Night with the Roulette winner "If You And I Had Never Met". Jay Proctor and his Techniques finally make it to CD with their forgotten B-side "Don't Ask Me To Forget" produced by our good friend Jerry Ross and arranged by the legendary Joe Renzetti. Other new-to-CD tracks include the original version of "Incompatible" by Ultra High Frequency, "If My Heart Was An Open Book" by Bobby Holley's Third Demetion, the Herb Rooney composition "Mighty Love Man" by Black Stash and Rick Thompson's obscure beater "What Do I Have To Do". The Playlist continues.


  1. Name
  2. What Hurts
  3. It's No Mistake
  4. Something New To Do
  5. Look In The Mirror Of My Eyes
  6. I'm About Lovin' You
  7. If You And I Had Never Met
  8. Don't Ask Me To Forget
  9. Love Is A Serious Business
  10. Let's Get Together Now
  11. A House For Sale
  12. Incompatible
  13. I Love You, Yes I Do
  14. I Just Can't Say Goodbye
  15. I Wanna Hold On To You
  16. Mighty Love Man (Part 1)
  17. All Alone By The Telephone
  18. If My Heart Was An Open Book
  19. Tomorrow Keeps Shining On Me
  20. (Call Me Your) Anything Man
  21. What Do I Have To Do
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock