THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Ballads 1997-2000

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Ballads 1997-2000
Ballads 1997-2000


While Omar Sosa is often lauded for his high-energy, percussive piano style, he also has a profound sense of expression in the delicate, lyrical realm. In this collection of ballads, loosely defined, taken from four of his early recordings, we are treated to a listening experience of beautiful melody and rich harmony, full of romanticism and grace - all with a Latin jazz heart. The compilation opens with Omar Sosa's signature ballad, "Mis Tres Notas", taken from his first ensemble recording, Free Roots, and closes with the beautiful love song "Shirma" from the same album, featuring the artistry of reedman Sheldon Brown on bass clarinet. Also from Free Roots there is "Raya", this time with Sheldon Brown on alto saxophone. From Omar Sosa's second ensemble CD, Spirit Of The Roots, there is "Para Ella", with Sheldon Brown on tenor saxophone, "Antes De Ir Va Esto", with John Calloway on flute and Orestes Vilato on timbal, and "Tienes Un Solo" featuring the divine Anastacia (Newkirk) on vocals. From the final recording of Omar Sosa 's Roots Trilogy, Bembón, there's "Gracias Señor" and "Para Dos Parados", both featuring poignant string arrangements and the latler featuring the exquisite vocal styling of María Márquez. Finally, from the groundbreaking CD Prietos, come two very delicate pieces, "Fragile", again featuring vocalist María Márquez, and "Twice As Sad" with Sheldon Brown on tenor saxophone. Ballads has a remarkable unity and organic quality, carrying the listener away on a relaxed, dream-like journey.  For Omar Sosa fans who may have missed some of his early ensemble recordings, or for those who have enjoyed the quieter, more introspective dimensions of this remarkable artist, the album is a must-have. For those new to Omar Sosa it is a very accessible beginning.


  1. Name
  2. Mis Tres Notas
  3. Para Ella
  4. Fragile
  5. Twice As Sad
  6. Gracias Senor
  7. Para Dos Parados
  8. Antes De Ir Va Esto
  9. Tienes Un Solo
  10. Raya
  11. Shirma
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock