THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Mondo Amore

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Mondo Amore
Mondo Amore


Nicole Atkins releases her new album, 'Mondo Amore' on the 28th March 2011 through Proper Records. It's been a tumultuous three years since the release of New Jersey-born Nicole Atkins' acclaimed 2007 debut, Neptune City, and its follow-up, Mondo Amore, is a courageous, provocative work, fraught with dramatic tension and sweeping emotion. Mondo Amore has its genesis in a time of extreme turbulence for Atkins, a period which saw her parting ways with her former (major) label, while also dealing with the painful, personal end of "a relationship that should've ended two years before it actually did" with her long-term boyfriend. "Things got weird and dark," she says. "Writing these songs was my way of trying to work out what was happening. I was breaking up with my boyfriend, my original band, and my label, all at the same time." For 'Mondo Amore', Atkins wanted to create a more volatile sound than she had previously attempted, a sonic approach akin to her influences Scott Walker and Nick Cave, whilst also touching on longtime inspirations like the blues, classic 60s psychedelic rock, and the cinematic surreal of David Lynch. Though it was painful, Atkins is strikingly pragmatic about her relationship's end, describing the breakup as "dark and sad and sexy, rather than bitter and pissed." As such, songs like "You Were The Devil" and "War Is Hell" (featuring counterpoint vocals from My Morning Jacket's Jim James) display a deep range of emotional feedback, with Atkins bravely taking ownership of her own role in the scenario. The loose collective of musicians who assisted Atkins on Mondo Amore has now morphed into a leaner, meaner backing combo, now dubbed The Black Sea. Comprising Yalkowsky, Kay, and drummer Ezra Oklan, the band has given Atkins still more reason to be enthused about her future. As its all-encompassing title suggests, Mondo Amore is a big, bold collection, a grandly romantic song cycle fraught with all the passion, anger, tenderness, and devotion of Atkins' own extraordinary heart. With acclaimed performances on Later with Jools Holland and David Letterman's The Late Show back in 2008, and having hit the road on a huge support tour with The Black Keys in late 2010, Nicole Atkins' profile could soar dramatically in 2011. Drama, after all, is what she thrives upon.


  1. Name
  2. Vultures
  3. Cry Cry Cry
  4. Hotel Plaster
  5. You Come To Me
  6. My Baby Don't Lie
  7. This Is For Love
  8. You Were The Devil
  9. War Is Hell
  10. Heavy Boots
  11. The Tower
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock