THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Philippe Verdelot: Madrigals For Four Voices

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Philippe Verdelot: Madrigals For Four Voices
Philippe Verdelot: Madrigals For Four Voices


Philippe Verdelot played a very important role in the development of the madrigal during the Italian Renaissance. Born in France, he probably moved to Italy at a young age. From 1522 onwards, he held the most important positions in church music in Florence first he was maestro di capella at the Baptistery of Florence Cathedral, and a year later also at the Cathedral itself. After 1530, with the riots surrounding the expulsion of the Medici family and the siege of the city, all biographical traces are lost, and no works created after these events seem to have survived. In the years before, however, Verdelot had initiated important musical developments with his madrigals, which at that time were the most published in Italy. The Ensemble Profeti della Quinta presents a selection of four-part madrigals from an anthology published posthumously (1540, 1565). A special feature of their performance is that each singer reads from the originally notated single voice unlike in a modern score with parts notated one above the other. The musicians must therefore listen to each other much more closely and be able to react spontaneously. This spontaneity can be felt throughout the recording, and takes the listener to the beginnings of the Italian madrigal in a very intense way.


  1. Name
  2. Se lardor foss equale
  3. Se mai provasti donna
  4. Gloriar mi possio donne
  5. Igno soave
  6. Io son tal volta (instrumental)
  7. Divini occhi sereni
  8. Trist Amarilli mia
  9. Ognor per voi sospiro
  10. Madonna, qual certezza
  11. Madonna, per voi ardo
  12. Se dimostrarvi a pieno (instrumental)
  13. Si lieta e grata morte
  14. Deh, perche si veloce
  15. Quando Amor i belli occhi a terra inchina
  16. Non vi fidate o simplicetti amanti
  17. Con lagrime et sospir (instrumental)
  18. Fuggi, fuggi, cor mio!
  19. Con suave parlar con dolce accento
  20. Passer mai solitario in alcun tetto
  21. Ben chel misero cor (instrumental)
  22. La bella man mi porse Madonna
  23. Gran dolor di mia vita
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock