THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSICLtd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | BoxSets

The Fall Of Gondolin

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
The Fall Of Gondolin
The Fall Of Gondolin


During the period 1982-97 Welsh composer Paul Corfield Godfrey produced a series of 'epic scenes' drawn from J R R Tolkien's posthumous writings for The Silmarillion, employing a large variety of posthumously published texts by the author with the permission of the Tolkien Estate. The cycle, extending in performance over four evenings, is the largest-scale work of classical music written in Wales in the twentieth century, demanding a full roster of solo singers, chorus and an orchestra of some eighty players, but has only ever been performed in excerpts until now.

Following on the success last year of the CD of the composer's music including the piano rondo Akallabêth and other Tolkien works, Prima Facie Records in collaboration with Volante Opera Productions now presents the first instalment in a complete recording of the epic scenes, to be released in a series of double CD albums. In a review last year Chris Seeman of the Tolkien Music Website wrote: "In the annals of Tolkien-inspired music, Paul Corfield Godfrey is the proverbial elephant in the closet" and expressed a hope that more of his work would be recorded in the near future. Accordingly this set of The Fall of Gondolin will be followed next year by a release of Beren and Luthien, to be followed in due course by The Children of Hurin and Feanor.

The singers are all professional artists from Welsh National Opera, and the sets will make available for the first time a fully representative recording of the music with the complete lyrics by Tolkien. Because of budgetary and other constraints, the orchestra is represented by sampled sets (using the sounds of real instruments) which have been carefully balanced and adjusted in collaboration with the composer to obtain as close a result to the sound of an actual orchestra as possible. The booklet with this set of The Fall of Gondolin explains the methods of production in greater detail, and also includes an essay by the composer on the manner in which the author's text has been adapted for music.

In a review last year of the composer's Akallabeth, Goran Forsling referred to his music as "accessible and captivating". Brian Wilson in another review compared his Tolkien songs to the Housman settings of Vaughan Williams, and observed that he would not be surprised if "some of Godfrey's music becomes as well-loved as the Vaughan Williams." We would hope that audiences will enjoy the further exploration of this extensive work.


  1. Name
  2. Prologue: Sing Us A Tale Of Earendil The Wandering
  3. Now Shalt Thou Go To Gondolin, Turgon
  4. Scene One: And Turgon Rose
  5. But Aredhel Wearied Of The Guarded City
  6. So Aredhel Rode Abroad
  7. Scene Two: But The Trees Of Nan Elmoth
  8. You Are Of The House Of Eol, Maeglin
  9. Scene 3 And, Driven By Anger And Despair
  10. I Rejoice Indeed That My Sister Has Returned
  11. Welcome, Kinsman; For So I Hold You
  12. Scene Four: Huor The Brother Of Hurin
  13. And At That Hour The Sun Went Down
  14. Rise, Son Of Huor
  15. Instrumental: Storm Music
  16. Hail, Veronwe! I Await You
  17. Often I Have Vowed
  18. In A Dim And Perilous Region
  19. Fell Is This Frost
  20. Scene Six: This Is Strange In You, Voronwe
  21. Rejoice That You Have Found
  22. Instrumental: Wedding March
  23. Scene Seven: There Elven Lights
  24. Scene Eight: I Am Maeglin
  25. Scene Nine : Ilu Iluvatar
  26. Morgoth Is Upon Us!
  27. Ah! Woe Is Me
  28. The Fume Of The Burning
  29. Then A Green Turf Came There
  30. Epilogue: I Know A Window In A Western Tower
  31. Oh Happy Mariner
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock