THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

New Release

Letters Of Regret: Music By David Golightly

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Letters Of Regret: Music By David Golightly
Letters Of Regret: Music By David Golightly


'Letters of Regret' is a double CD collection of compositions recorded in celebration of the life and music of the late composer David Golightly, who died in 2018. David left money for his piano trio 'Letters of Regret' to be recorded. This was duly organised by producer and friend of David, Stephen Plews, who assembled the works they had recorded together.

Stephen explains: "I met David Golightly in the mid 1990s, when he was trying to set up an organisation to represent composers in the north-west of England. He succeeded, forming the North West Composers Association, and I was honoured to be David's right-hand man in the early days we shared a love of contemporary music (and football). David worked tirelessly for composers in the area, putting on concerts, releasing CDs, and attracting funding for a variety of successful projects, as well as composing prolifically himself. .

Sadly, David's life was cut short in 2018. I was approached by the executors of his Will, Doug and Gillian Wright, to record his fabulous piano trio, 'Letters of Regret'. This I did, with the renowned Lawson Trio, and the piece lends its title to this this double CD, capturing the essence of David's depth and musical vitality. '

After the recording of 'Letters of Regret', I decided, as a tribute to put together on disc all the music I had recorded with David. It's a stunning collection in my opinion, and I am proud to be involved in this release. You can read more below about David and his music, from Gillian Wright, who tells David's story, Annabelle Lawson, who talks about 'Letters of Regret', and David's close friend from the brass world, Steve Robson, who reminisces about David and the final work on this collection, 'A Weardale Portrait'

I am extremely grateful to Doug and Gillian Wright, Annabelle Lawson, Monica McCabe, Steve Robson, and engineer and producer Phil Hardman, who recorded the piano trio Letters of regret."

David F Golightly studied composition with Richard Steinitz at Huddersfield University. He was born in Co Durham in 1948. A number of his compositions have been commissioned by eminent performers, including "Moods" for Roger Heaton, and "Rites of Passage" and "The St Petersburg Mass" for The Soglasie Male Voice Choir of St Petersburg" (premiered 1994, State Capella Hall St Petersburg) His music has been performed as far afield as America, Germany, Poland and Russia. To add to his credits, David was also acclaimed for his Baroque arrangements for the Rumanian opera singer Inessa Galante on her CD "Arietta".

Important premieres, recordings and commissions have included the "Piano Trio" (Fenice Trio recording) "Concerto for Strings" (Kiev Philharmonic CD recording, ERM masterworks series released June 2006) "Second Symphony" (dedicated to Serge Inkov Choral master Kirov and premiered 2006 St Petersburg Russia) Symphony No 1 (The Middlesbrough, premiered Royal Northern Sinfonia, Middlesbrough September 2011) Housman settings for Mezzo Soprano and Piano (premiered New York 2011, Emily Cobley Mezzo Soprano and Beth Levin Piano). Other commissions included a Tuba Sonata (Ewan Easton Halle Tuba). Piano Fantasy on a theme of Thomas Morley (Adrian Morley) Three Folksong settings for Mezzo Soprano and String Trio. (David Appleton)

David was chairman of "The North-West Composers' Association" and a past director of the "British Academy". He was also one of the classical representatives for the "PRS Advisory Group" established to assist the company review its public performance and broadcast policy.


  1. Name
  2. Letters of Regret Demons
  3. Letters of Regret Angel
  4. Letters of Regret Letters of Regret
  5. Moods - Isolation
  6. Moods - Jovialities
  7. Moods - Anger
  8. Moods - Loneliness
  9. Moods - Desolation
  10. Piano Sonata No 1 Allegro Volante
  11. Piano Sonata No 1 Expressivo Delicato
  12. Piano Sonata No 1 Allegro Scherzando
  13. Three shadow Portraits 1 Vigoros Fuoco
  14. Three shadow Portraits 11 Andante Expressivo
  15. Three Shadow Portraits 111  Brilliante Volante
  16. Symphony No 1 (The Middleborough Symphony) 1
  17. Symphony No 1 (The Middleborough Symphony) 2
  18. Symphony No 1 (The Middleborough Symphony) 3
  19. Symphony No 1 (The Middleborough Symphony) - 4
  20. Seascapes - Fire Down Below
  21. Seascapes - Shenandoah
  22. Seascapes - Rio Grande
  23. A Weardale Portrait
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite