THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Sounds & Cries Of The Wor

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Sounds & Cries Of The Wor
Sounds & Cries Of The Wor


'Sounds and Cries of the World' is an album from experimental jazz vocalist, composer, and multi-instrumentalist Jen Shyu, who is best known for carving out new improvisational terrain for the voice through integrating traditional music discovered through rigorous research and fieldwork.

The Guardian has called her "a remarkable phenomenon" and The Wall Street Journal "invigorating" and "enigmatic." A 2014 recipient of the prestigious Doris Duke Impact Award, Shyu is well-respected for her uncanny vocal precision and formidable musicianship. She is perhaps best known as a member of influential saxophonist Steve Coleman's band Five Elements, most recently on the critically lauded Synovial Joints (Pi 2015).

This release is a culmination of her travels through East Timor, Korea, Indonesia, and Taiwan, where she has spent months to years in each place immersing herself in the language and under-recognized music of various indigenous cultures. Utilizing specific musical forms, dream-like narrative, and language of these various cultures, her work is utterly unique. The New York Times said that the effect "could remind you of ancient court music or Joni Mitchell. Everything Shyu did - every turn, every breath - came with mindful emphasis."


  1. Name
  2. Song of Kwan Wen
  3. Bloom's Mouth Rushed In
  4. Mother of Time
  5. Moxa
  6. Aku Yang Lahir Dari Air Mata | B?w? Sid? Asih
  7. Para Pembakar Ombak
  8. She Held Fire
  9. Rai Nakukun Ba Dadauk Ona
  10. Song for Naldo
  11. Thoughts of Light and Freedom
Out of stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

Search engine powered by ElasticSuite