Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Igbo Alakorin (The Singer's Grove) Vol. I & II

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Igbo Alakorin (The Singer's Grove) Vol. I & II
Igbo Alakorin (The Singer's Grove) Vol. I & II


'Igbó Alákorin' is the realisation of New York-based pianist David Virelles's long-held dream to document the under-sung musicians of his birthplace, Santiago de Cuba.

Virelles, who was named the #1 Rising Star Jazz Pianist in the 2017 Downbeat Critics Poll, is one of the most in-demand pianists on the contemporary jazz scene, recording with the likes of Henry Threadgill, Chris Potter, and Tomasz Stanko. He also has five prior releases under his own name, including 'Continuum', which topped the New York Times best album list for 2012. Legendary Cuban pianist Chucho Valdés calls Virelles "an innovator and a perfectionist, a young virtuoso who is the most creative and advanced of our jazz pianists."

'Igbó Alákorin' is made up of two distinct projects: 'Volume I - David Virelles Introduces Orquesta Luz de Oriente' traces the roots of the Cuban big band tradition and encompasses various genres/styles associated with the rich musical legacy of Santiago: danzón Oriental, chepinsón, bolero and trova.

On 'Volume II - Danzones de Romeu at Café La Diana', Virelles explores the piano music of the iconic early-20th Century pianist/composer Antonio María Romeu, following his practice of playing danzónes accompanied only by güiro. Virelles is accompanied by the master güirero Rafael Ábalos, who has been an invaluable resource in realizing this entire project, passing on secrets of the danzón, the much talked about but forever mystical genre of Cuban music.

A product of deep historical and cultural research, 'Igbó Alákorin' is another chapter in Virelles's ongoing pursuit to create music that transcends the boundaries between the folkloric and contemporary to reveal an essence beyond any genre.


  1. Name
  2. Vol. I David Virelles Introduces Orquesta Luz De Oriente: Bodas Do Oro
  3. El Rayaero
  4. Grato Recuerdo
  5. Echa Pa' Alla
  6. Canto A Oriente
  7. Un Granito De Arena
  8. Sube La Loma, Compay
  9. Cosas De Mi Cuba
  10. Ojos De Sirena
  11. Vol. II Danzones De Romeu At Café La Diana: Tapame Que Tengo Frio
  12. Tira La Cuchara Y Rompe El Plato
  13. Mojito Criollo
  14. Mares Y Arenas
  15. Tres Lindas Cubanas
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite