THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

Brushwood (Songs & Stories)

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Jewel Case
Catalog Number:
Brushwood (Songs & Stories)
Brushwood (Songs & Stories)


2017 release from the folk veteran. Returning in 2016 to Lookout Mountain, Norman Blake has again recorded all-new, original Blake material written over the past two years culminating in the 19 selections of Brushwood Song & Stories: two Instrumental rags, two spoken-word recitations, and 15 songs, two written with Nancy Blake, who also provides her sweet harmonies on five of the tracks. This recording highlights the elements displayed throughout Norman's celebrated, multi-generational career; be it his rooted-in-tradition prolific songwriting, storytelling or his world-renowned master guitar work. Truly though, it's the instruments themselves that Norman loves so much. Hand-selecting an admirable list of old-time instruments, Norman brought Brushwood Songs & Stories to life in vivid tones and timbre. Norman tells us that outside of the occasional contribution to a special project here and there, he feels this might be his last full-length recording.


  1. Name
  2. The Countless Lola Montez
  3. How the Weary World Wears Away
  4. Bunk Johnson, Trumpet Man
  5. High Rollers
  6. The Generic Rag
  7. Waitin' for the Mail and Social Security
  8. The Lantern Thru the Fog
  9. There's a Storm Somewhere
  10. Newsome Rap Gang
  11. The Truth Will Stand, When This World's On Fire
  12. Sweet Banks of Flowers, Georgie's Vision
  13. Look Away, So Far Away
  14. The Fate of Oliver Curtis Perry, Empire State Train Robber
  15. The Target Shooter
  16. Fiddlin' Peg Leg Jackson On the Mourner's Beach
  17. The Nameless Photograph
  18. Cripple Creek Charlie
  19. The Wreck On the Western & Atlantic, at Willowdale Curve
  20. Stay Down On the Farm
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite