Please Note: Due to a Royal Mail Service Outage affecting all International/EU/USA packages, orders shipping outside the UK are currently heavily delayed.

THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independent labels and artists from across the globe

JS Bach: The Cello Suites & Organ Chorales

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Fat Double (a 2.5cm thick jewel case, fits several
Catalog Number:
JS Bach: The Cello Suites & Organ Chorales
JS Bach: The Cello Suites & Organ Chorales


Valentin Erben, cellist of the legendary Alban Berg Quartet, presents his recording of Johann Sebastian Bach's solo suites, recorded in Erben's 75th year. Together with his son Sebastian, Erben has given the cycle of cello suites a framework by adding nine organ chorales, as it were bridges between the individual suites.

Erben's playing is at once powerful and humble, youthful yet wise here we have an interpretation of these much performed works that counters those interpretations that ostensibly focus on the instrumental virtuosity of Bach's music.

The "lifelong chamber musician" Erben appears here as a soloist in the truest sense of the word, and one may regret, for all the joy of this recording, that the world had to wait so long for it.


  1. Name
  2. JS Bach: Organ Prelude "Christ Lag In Todesbanden", BWV 625
  3. Suite For Violoncello Solo No. 1 In G Major, BWV 1007
  4. Organ Prelude "Liebster Jesu, Wir Sind Hier", BWV 731
  5. Suite For Violoncello Solo No. 2 In D Minor, BWV 1008
  6. Organ Prelude "Herr Jesu Christ, Dich Zu Uns Wend", BWV 726
  7. Suite For Violoncello Solo No. 3 In C Major, BWV 1009
  8. Organ Prelude "O Lamm Gottes, Unschuldig", BWV 618
  9. Suite For Violoncello Solo No. 4 In E-Flat Major, BWV 1010
  10. Organ Prelude "Jesu, Meine Freude", BWV 610
  11. Organ Prelude "Lobt Gott, Ihr Christen, Allzugleich", BWV 609
  12. Suite For Violoncello Solo No. 5 In C Minor, BWV 1011
  13. Organ Prelude "Herzlich Tut Mich Verlangen", BWV 727
  14. Suite For Violoncello Solo No 6 In D Major, BWV 1012
  15. Organ Prelude " Wenn Wir In Hochsten Noten Sein / Vor Deinen Thron Tret Ich Hiermit", BWV 668a
In stock

Fast delivery & returns worldwide

In stock
Search engine powered by ElasticSuite