THE HOME OF SPECIALIST MUSIC Supporting independant labels and artists from across the globe
All Genres | Ltd Editions | Signed CD's | Special Offers | Vinyl | Box Sets

Cold Old Fire

Compact Disc (Audio)
No of Discs:
Release Date:
Catalog Number:
Cold Old Fire
Cold Old Fire


Lynched are a four-piece traditional folk group from Dublin, Ireland, who combine distinctive four-part vocal harmonies with arrangements of uilleann pipes, concertina, Russian accordion, fiddle and guitar. Their repertoire spans humorous Dublin music-hall ditties and street-songs, classic ballads from the Traveller tradition, traditional Irish and American dance tunes, and their own original material.

Formed as an experimental-psychedelic-folk-punk-duo by brothers Ian and Daragh Lynch in the early 2,000's, the group has gone through various incarnations and taken part in a number of musical projects, including recording for movie soundtracks and TV documentaries. As their interest in traditional music and song grew, the brothers began to attend sessions around Dublin, where they formed friendships with Cormac Mac Diarmada and Radie Peat, amongst a whole host of impressive young musicians. The current format is considered by all four members to be the most focussed, productive and musically exciting to date.

'Cold Old Fire' was recorded by Danny in ITMA in August of 2013, and although fundamentally an album of traditional Irish song, heavily influenced by Irish legends such as Frank Harte, Planxty and The Dubliners, subtle traces of the group's collective influences can be detected, from American old-timey music, ambient techno and psychedelic folk, to black metal, punk and rock n' roll.

Since making the album, the group have completed a six week coast-to-coast tour of the US, been invited to some of the world's most renowned music festivals, including Cambridge, Sidmouth and Edmonton, as well as performing in the last two years alongside some notable artists, including Dick Gaughan, Paddy & Séamus Glackin, Andy Irvine, Lau, Lúnasa, Liam O'Connor & Seán McKeon, Alasdair Roberts and Sharon Shannon.

Lynched are:

  • Cormac Mac Diarmada - vocals, fiddle, banjo. Radie Peat - vocals, concertina, wonkertina, bayan, whistle. Ian Lynch - vocals, uilleann pipes, whistle. Daragh Lynch - vocals, guitar.
  • Tracks

    1. Name
    2. Henry My Son
    3. Daffodil Mulligan
    4. Drinking Song from the Tomb
    5. Father had a Knife
    6. Salonika
    7. What Put the Blood
    8. The Old Man from Over the Sea
    9. The Tri-Coloured House
    10. Lullaby
    11. Cold Days of February
    12. Cold Old Fire
    13. Love is Kind
    In stock

    Fast delivery & returns worldwide

    In stock