of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
Blow The Fuse Records
October 6, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Recorded live at the Vortex, bassist and composer Alison Rayner leads her jazz, latin and funk-inspired quintet with Diane McLoughlin (sax), Deirdre Cartwright (guitar), Steve Lodder (piano) and Buster Birch (drums).

'August' is Alison's first recorded album under her own name. The nine melodic compositions (plus one cover) feature killer grooves, influences from American swing, funk and dance music to contemporary jazz and European folk. As John Fordham says in his liner notes, "(they) could hardly represent a sharper reminder to the British jazz world of the breadth and depth of Alison Rayner's often unsung talents."

Alison has been a professional bass player and composer since the 1970s. In the 1980s she was a member of the critically acclaimed jazz group the Guest Stars going on to lead a quartet and work with jazz players including Tal Farlow, Jayne Cortez and Denardo Coleman, Bobby Wellins, Ian Shaw, Jean Toussaint, Carol Grimes, John Etheridge, Dick Heckstall-Smith, Maggie Nicols and John Stevens.

Jazz critic Digby Fairweather says, "With her big warm acoustic sound, faultless time, tuning and taste and creative solo ability, Alison Rayner clearly belongs in the front rank of contemporary bassists."

Personnel: Alison Rayner (double bass), Diane McLoughlin (saxophones), Deirdre Cartwright (guitar), Steve Lodder (piano), Buster Birch (drums)

Press Quotes

(4 stars) It's a well crafted and well programmed set that touches many bases and the warm atmosphere and excitement of the live event is transmitted through the CD grooves. The well established rapport between Rayner, Cartwright and McLoughlin is apparent throughout, Lodder is in terrific form and Birch's drumming is right on the money. There's a joie de vivre about "August" that makes for very enjoyable listening.

The Jazz Mann, (Ian Mann), November 4, 2014

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number BTF1411CD
Barcode 5020883334110
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 66g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Mr Stanley II -
2. August -
3. Half a World Away -
4. Fixing a Hole -
5. Vejer De La Frontera -
6. Queer Bird -
7. Dig Over -
8. String Theory -
9. Elegy for Art -
10. Hyperbubble -