Ace Of Cups (2LP)

Ace Of Cups

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Rock, Pop-Rock
High Noon Records
December 7, 2018

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Ace Of Cups, the beloved all-women rock group from the late 60s Haight-Ashbury psychedelic scene, will release their self-titled, debut studio album on November 9th via High Moon Records. Produced by Dan Shea (Santana, Jennifer Lopez), this album includes both newly recorded songs written between 1965 and 1969 and new originals written over the past decade. The record features contributions from friends like Bob Weir (Grateful Dead), Jorma Kaukonen and Jack Casady (Jefferson Airplane, Hot Tuna), Taj Mahal, Buffy Sainte-Marie, and many more. During their original run from 1967 to 1972, Ace of Cups - Mary Gannon (bass), Marla Hunt (organ, piano), Denise Kaufman (guitar, harmonica), Mary Ellen Simpson (guitar), and Diane Vitalich (drums) - wrote and sang together as one of the area's first all-women bands, and they were known throughout the Bay Area for their instrumental mastery and social commentary-driven rock n roll; Jimi Hendrix even gave them a shout out in Melody Maker after they opened for him at Golden Gate Park. The band never officially recorded any music, and their only release was a 2003 compilation of informal recordings. Ace Of Cups is the first proper showcase of the band's freewheeling spirit that blends multi-colored rock with elements of roots and folk. Learn more about Ace of Cups in this award-winning KQED piece, which has garnered almost 5 million views on social media:

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number LPHMR10
Barcode 0638126750785
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 200g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 310mm x 5mm x 310mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Introduction: There’s A Record Being Made -
2. Feel Good -
3. Pretty Boy -
4. Fantasy 1&4 -
5. Circles -
6. We Can’t Go Back Again -

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. The Well (Feat. Bob Weir) -
2. Taste Of One -
3. Mama’s Love -
4. Simplicity -
5. Feel It In The Air -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. Interlude: Transistor -
2. Stones -
3. Interlude: Baby From The Forest Of Knolls -
4. Life In Your Hands (Feat. Taj Mahal) -
5. MacUshla/Thelina -
6. As The Rain (Feat. Peter Coyote) -
7. Interlude: Daydreamin’ (Feat. Taj Mahal) -
8. On The Road -

Track Listing — Disc 2, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Pepper In The Pot (Feat. Buffy Sainte-Marie) -
2. Interlude: Breath -
3. Indian Summer -
4. Grandma’s Hands -
5. Medley (The Hermit / The Flame Still Burns / Gold And Green / Living In The Country) -
6. Outroduction: It’s Always Safe… -
7. Music -