365: Volume 1 (2CD)

Aidan O'Rourke

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Folk, Scottish Folk
Reveal Records
May 25, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


365: Volume 1 is a new double album (released by Reveal Records on 25 May 2018) from one of Scotland's finest musicians, fiddler and composer Aidan O'Rourke.
The multiple BBC Folk Award winner and founding member of Lau, Kan and Blazin' Fiddles spent a year writing daily musical responses to James Robertson's short story collection, 365: Stories (Hamish Hamilton / Penguin Books Ltd 2013)

By the end of the year he had written 365 new tunes, from which he selected 22 to record with Kit Downes (ECM Records) on harmonium and piano. They tour the album starting in the UK through April 2018. James Robertson appears as special guest to read from his 365: Stories collection on selected dates.

"It all began with short stories", Aidan O'Rourke says. "James Robertson, one of my favourite Scottish authors, wrote a short story every day for a year, and each story had exactly 365 words. I loved reading those stories: a daily dose of poetry and wisdom. And I loved the writing". James Robertson added, "I am amazed that Aidan O'Rourke went through an entire year composing his daily musical responses to my 365-word stories. I am even more amazed, and deeply impressed, by the beauty and variety of these recordings by Aidan and Kit. It has been a joy working with them in live performance and I look forward to doing so again in 2018."

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number REVEAL074CDX
Barcode 0713179439624
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 88g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 125mm x 154mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Nobody Could Be One Hundred Percent Sure About The Last Tiger 02:42
2. Do People Still Do This? 04:31
3. Every Morning She Steps Out The Front Door 02:45
4. Her Feet Padding Back 04:16
5. A Fox And A Hound Met Early One Morning On A Hillside 04:33
6. He Looked At His Right Hand 02:08
7. It Was The Savage Boys Watching From The Cliffs 03:04
8. I Was An Experiment 02:18
9. The Room Is Darkness 03:04
10. You Forget More Than You Retain, And That's The Truth 02:21
11. Awake Isn't Good 04:38

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
12. I Don't Know Beforehand How I Will Appear To Anyone 04:35
13. Lying Awake In The Middle Of The Night 02:42
14. Sometimes He Felt He Could Live Permanently In A Hotel 02:32
15. I Am Not Able To Read On Buses 03:26
16. The Phone Rang Just As She'd Got The Children To The Table 03:24
17. They Were Passing The End Of A Particular Street 02:57
18. Jack,' His Mother Says One Day, 'That Auld Dug Has Had It' 02:54
19. There Was Once A Man So Old That Most Of His Family, And All Of His Friends, Had Left The World Long Before Him 03:11
20. When I Was Still Some Distance From The Village 02:16
21. At The Interval, As The Applause Dies Away And People Begin To Make For The Exits 05:29
22. Now,' The Old Woman Said, 'before You Go Up There I Want To Introduce You To Someone' 02:20