Rockin' Rollin' Stone: Singles A's & B's (1955-1962)

Andy Starr

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Rock 'N' Roll, Rockabilly
Jasmine Records
December 7, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


When the first Rockabilly revival hit the UK and Europe in the early-mid 1970s, a clutch of singles by a then-unknown singer by the name of Andy Starr formed part of the first wave of highly prized 45rpm rarities. It soon became apparent that further 45s bearing the name of Frankie or Frank Starr were the work of the same man. Despite never having a US hit or a UK release, Franklin Delano Gulledge was quickly elevated to Rockabilly's upper pantheon based on a handful of magical singles.

More than 40 years later, those records are still highly prized and regularly danced to in rock 'n' roll clubs all over the world. Andy Starr himself is sadly no longer with us, but his small and important legacy lives on every time a rockin' DJ drops his stylus on 'Rockin' Rollin' Stone', 'She's A Going Jessie', 'Dig Them Squeaky Shoes' and other similarly potent recordings.

Every important side from Starr's catalogue is included in this Jasmine collection - which as always is remastered from the finest available sources, and features the usual informative booklet notes that our customers have come to expect.

Andy Starr might not have had the commercial impact that his records thoroughly deserved to bring him, but the 'Rockin' Rollin' Stone's name will be held in high esteem as long as people get together to dance to straight ahead Texas hillbilly with a beat.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASCD1002
Barcode 0604988100228
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Dig Them Squeaky Shoes - Frank Starr And His Rock-A-Way Boys -
2. The Dirty Bird Song - Frank Starr And His Rock-A-Way Boys -
3. Tell Me Why - Frank Starr And His Rock-A-Way Boys -
4. For The Want Of Your Love - Frank Starr And His Rock-A-Way Boys -
5. Rockin' Rollin' Stone - Andy Starr -
6. I Wanna Go South - Andy Starr -
7. She's A Going Jessie - Andy Starr -
8. Old Deacon Jones - Andy Starr -
9. Round And Round - Andy Starr -
10. Give Me A Woman - Andy Starr -
11. One More Time - Andy Starr -
12. No Room For Your Kind - Andy Starr -
13. Do It Right Now - Andy Starr -
14. I Waited For You To Remember - Andy Starr -
15. Knees Shakin' - Frank Starr -
16. Evil Eye - Frank Starr -
17. Little Bitty Feeling - Frank Starr -
18. Lost In A Dream - Frank Starr -
19. Do It Right - Frank Starr And His Rock-A-Way Boys -
20. Rockin' Reelin Country Style - Frank Starr And His Rock-A-Way Boys -
21. I'm Seeing Things (I Shouldn't See) - Andy Starr -
22. Somali Dolly - Andy Starr -