Anne Briggs

Anne Briggs

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Delivery Estimate
Upon Release

Format: Compact Disc

This title will be released on March 22, 2019
Pre-order now!

Price Promise: Order now, and if the price is reduced before dispatch you will pay the lowest price



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


A long overdue issue of the classic first album from Anne Briggs on Topic. Widley regarded as a long-lost treasure and recorded in 1971 by Sean Davies and featuring Johnny Moynihan from Sweeny's Men on bouzouki.
Anne Briggs began singing in local folk clubs in her teens. In 1962 she became part of the Centre 42 tour which was a leftist group of artists, writers, actors and musicians whose aim was to make arts and culture accessible to the masses. Ewan MacColl first heard Briggs' remarkable voice and persuaded her to join the group and tour. There Briggs met MacColl's comrade A.L. 'Bert' Lloyd who became her mentor.
Briggs debut EP, The Hazards Of Love, was produced by Lloyd. Lloyd also recorded Briggs for Topic released albums The Iron Muse and The Bird In The Bush.
In 1971 Anne Briggs recorded this, her debut full length album simply named Anne Briggs with Johnny Moynihan of Sweeny's Men. Tracks included 'Blackwater Side', 'The Snow It Melts The Soonest' and 'Go Your Way (My Love)'.
Famously, Briggs taught Bert Jansch the song 'Blackwater Side', which he recorded on his album Jack Orion, largely comprised songs he learnt from Briggs who helped him understand the structure of folk song. Briggs and Jansch also wrote a handful of songs together. 'Go Your Way' being one of them.
Briggs went onto recorded a follow up album The Time Has Come later that same year for CBS. Two years later she recorded again but blocked the album's release because she was so disheartened by her singing and retired from the limelight only to resurface in the mid 90's to perform with Bert Jansch for a TV documentary.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number TTSCD002
Barcode 0714822890021
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 95g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 125mm x 144mm x 12mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Blackwater Side 03:48
2. The Snow It Melts The Soonest 02:18
3. Willie O' Winsbury 05:25
4. Go Your Way (My Love) 04:07
5. Thorneymoor Woods 03:31
6. The Cuckoo 03:05
7. Reynardine 02:53
8. Young Tambling 10:32
9. Living By The Water 03:47
10. Maa Bonny Lad 01:25