of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Classical, Choral
Royal Flemish Philharmonic
April 12, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Antwerp Symphony Orchestra presents its new CD, Religious Tetralogy, featuring four works by the Flemish composer Peter Benoit. The recording continues the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra's Benoit cycle.

This recording of Noel (1858), Messe Solennelle (1860), Te Deum (1862), and Requiem (1863), which Benoit thought of as components in a tetraptych of sacred pieces, continues the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra's Benoit cycle, which it launched in 2013 with a recording of the oratorio De Schelde. As an officially recognised Flemish cultural institution, the Antwerp Symphony Orchestra has a remit to preserve and disseminate Flemish musical heritage, and this cycle forms part of that mission. Recording for the Religious Tetralogy started in 2015 and continued for four years at various locations in Antwerp. Messe Solennelle, Te Deum and Requiem were performed in the Cathedral of Our Lady in Antwerp, during the 2015 and 2016 traditional cathedral concerts. Noël was recorded a year later, in 2017, at the Church of St. Charles Borromeo in Antwerp. Each performance was led by a different conductor: Martyn Brabbins (Messe solennelle and Te Deum), Edo de Waart (Requiem) and Jan Willem de Vriend (Noël).

Antwerp Symphony Orchestra
Yves Saelens - Tenor
Álvaro Zambrano - Tenor
Antwerp Symphony Orchestra
Namur Chamber Choir
Octopus Symphony Chorus

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number RFP013
Barcode 0608917760521
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 200g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Benoit: Noel -
2. Benoit: Messe Solennelle I. Kyrie -
3. Benoit: Messe Solennelle II. Gloria -
4. Benoit: Messe Solennelle III. Credo -
5. Benoit: Messe Solennelle IV. Sanctus -
6. Benoit: Messe Solennelle V. Benedictus -
7. Benoit: Messe Solennelle VI. Agnus Dei -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Benoit: Te Deum -
2. Benoit: Requiem I. Requiem Aeternum -
3. Benoit: Requiem II. Dies Irae -
4. Benoit: Requiem III. Sanctus -
5. Benoit: Requiem IV. Benedictus -
6. Benoit: Requiem V. Agnus Dei -