B4 Seventy-Four - The Folkclub Tapes (2CD)

Barbara Dickson

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
Folk, Scottish Folk
Chariot Records
January 14, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Double CD of archive recordings of Barbara Dickson performing at various folk clubs across England and Scotland. Entitled 'B4 Seventy-Four - The Folk Club Tapes', the release, compiled produced by Rab Noakes, features forty recordings, none of which have ever been available before.

For decades, the lovely Barbara Dickson has been a familiar figure on stage and television, often singing songs by people like Andrew Lloyd-Webber. But before her life changed and she hit pop stardom in 1974, she was a well-known figure on the folk club circuit. Many of her folk club appearances were recorded, and the best of them have been collected together on this album

Barbara Dickson explains: "There are some duets, with Rab Noakes, there's a Scottish band called The McCalmans and Mike Whellans, he's a Scottish artist still going strong, so I've got duets with these people - and there's a track with Martin Carthy and Dave Swarbrick. Some of the recordings are not very high quality but the performances are of a high quality. They are all good songs and well executed, so I think they have a place".

Press Quotes

(4 stars) One of the charms is that it doesn't have the benefit of hindsight meaning some of the recordings are scratchy and very real. The other is Barbara herself, an enduringly lovely part of folk and pop-lore.

Daily Express, (Stephen Unwin), February 11, 2013

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CTVPCD006
Barcode 5060230862897
Number of items 2
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 278g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 7mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. False Lover Won Back -
2. International -
3. Something's Wrong -
4. The Poachers -
5. Fit Can a Young Lassie? -
6. The Laird o' the Dainty Dounby -
7. Jamie Raeburn -
8. Steamboat Row -
9. Jock o' Hazeldean -
10. Ythanside -
11. Fareweel tae Whisky -
12. Fareweel tae Whisky pt2 -
13. A Parcel of Rogues -
14. Johnnie Cope -
15. Dainty Davie -
16. The Rigs o' Rye -
17. Lord Franklin -
18. Call on Me -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. The Plooman Laddies -
2. The Early Morning Rain -
3. Do Right Woman -
4. Love of My Life -
5. Something's Wrong -
6. Spoken Word/Bob White -
7. Highland Harry -
8. The January Man -
9. The Enniskillen Dragoons -
10. O'er the Water tae Charlie -
11. The Dreadnought -
12. I am Lonely -
13. I am Lost -
14. The Blacksmith -
15. Gartan Mother's Lullaby -
16. The Band o' Shearers -
17. The Seeds of Love -
18. Westron Wynd -
19. The Shipyard Apprentice -
20. The Foggy Dew -
21. Spoken Word/NK -
22. Sullivan's John -
23. Spoken Word/Bob White -