The Poetry of Jazz, Volume 2

Benjamin Boone & Philip Levine

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Jazz, Contemporary
Origin Records
April 19, 2019

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


"Poetry and jazz have long been great partners, but "The Poetry of Jazz" offers a fresher take, just like Levine's poems give us new, heroic looks at the ordinary lives of the lower-middle class...The Poetry of Jazz is a master poet's contribution to the musical genre, one not to be missed." - THE PARIS REVIEW.

Without knowing or planning it, saxophonist/composer Benjamin Boone has spent his life preparing for a collaboration with Philip Levine. Long fascinated by the inherent musicality of the spoken word, Boone crossed paths with the Pulitzer Prize-winning poet as fellow professors at California State University, Fresno, and they ended up working closely together in the three years before Levine's death in 2015. Boone and Levine's 2018 release, "The Poetry of Jazz," captured a genre-expanding partnership unlike anything else in the jazz canon. "Volume Two" completes the program with 14 poems and three instrumental compositions by Boone. "Boone knows where the thing called poetry lives, an ocelot among the waters, a sky-shaped Rain God that flares down upon us...He is one of the very few that can lure Phil's poetry-magic and call it out and show it to the world...Beyond words up there with the muses." - U.S. Poet Laureate Juan Felipe Herrera.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number ORIGIN82772
Barcode 0805558277221
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Let Me Begin Again -
2. An Ordinary Morning -
3. The Simple Truth -
4. They Feed They Lion -
5. To Cipriano, In the Wind -
6. The Poem Circling Hamtramck, Mi, All Night, In Search of You -
7. Belle Isle -
8. Yakov -
9. Snow -
10. Godspell -
11. The Helmet -
12. The Simple Truth -
13. The Conductor of Nothing -
14. South -
15. Saturday Sweeping -
16. Blood -
17. When the Shift Was Over -
18. Godspell (Homage to Phil & Brian) -