King Of The Honkers: Selected Singles 1948-1952

Big Jay McNeely

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Blues, Rhythm and Blues
Jasmine Records
December 7, 2018

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


This CD is one of four releases from Jasmine, which present the honking r&b sax blasters from the late 1940s, when they fronted the riffing big bands in the mid to late 50s and were making their own records or providing the sax breaks on endless rock and roll records.

Following on from Willis 'Gator Tail' Jackson & Sam 'The Man' Taylor comes these 29 slices of frantic sax blasting by the one and only Big Jay McNeely.
All of these recordings epitomise the style of 'honking' that mesmerised audiences during the immediate post-war years and the early 50s and includes his hits, "Wild Wig" and "The Deacon's Hop".

A Single CD and the limited space of a CD booklet can hardly do justice to the remarkable career of Big Jay but just like its companion CDs from Buddy Lucas, Sam 'The Man' Taylor and Willis 'Gator Tail' Jackson, the music really does speak for itself.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number JASMCD3112
Barcode 0604988311228
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 10mm x 120mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Wild Wig -
2. Deacon's Groove -
3. The Deacon’s Hop -
4. Artie’s Jump -
5. Sunday Dinner -
6. California Hop -
7. Man Eater -
8. Cherry Smash -
9. Blow Big Jay -
10. Willie The Cool Cat -
11. Road House Boogie -
12. Hoppin’ With Hunter -
13. K & H Boogie -
14. Jay’s Frantic -
15. Deacon’s Blowout -
16. Let’s Split -
17. Real Crazy Cool -
18. All That Wine Is Gone -
19. Insect Ball -
20. Let’s Do It (Deacons Hop) -
21. Deacon Rides Again -
22. Blow, Blow, Blow -
23. Jay Walk -
24. Night Ride -
25. Jet Fury -
26. Deacon’s Express -
27. The Goof -
28. Big Jay Shuffle -
29. Just Crazy -