The Ballads Of Peckham Rye

Blue Rose Code

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Singer Songwriter
Ronachan Songs
September 29, 2014

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Brand new release studio album by Blue Rose Code - aka Ross Wilson, the Edinburgh-born songwriter who labours under that name doesn't write folk songs. But having discovered the traditional music of the British Isles whilst in exile down south, he fell in love with what he heard. Those sounds informed what happened next.

His new album 'The Ballads Of Peckham Rye' features a remarkable roll call of musicians from the folk side of the fence, including Karine Polwart, Mattie Foulds, Lau's Aidan O'Rourke and Rachel Newton from The Furrow Collective.

To make it harder for our few remaining record shops to file Blue Rose Code in a rack, the new album also features two of the Scottish jazz scene's supreme talents in trumpeter Colin Steele and pianist Dave Milligan. And on bass, the unclassifiable but unutterably classy Danny Thompson warms and grounds these songs, as only he can.

At the start of his career, Ross sent demos to folk clubs in the hope of a gig. One promoter posted his CD back with a post-it note, scrawled in red that simply said: "Your music is not folk." You can't argue with that. Or can you?
"I guess that I'm a crossover artist," says Ross. "I'm just not sure from where I'm crossing over or where I'm going to end up."

As Bob Harris says, "Blue Rose Code is a very important emerging singer/songwriter", or as David Kushar of Spiral Earth put it: "Blue Rose Code is as slippery as an eel; a genre dodger; a mess of influences and contradictions, a sign of something special".

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number RSCD0001
Barcode 5060378907757
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 62g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Boscombe Armistice -
2. Silent Dreams -
3. Where The Westlin Winds Do Carry Me -
4. True Ways Of Knowing -
5. One Day At A Time -
6. The Right To Be Happy -
7. The Light Of You -
8. Edina -
9. Oh,north -
10. Step 11 -