of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
May 10, 2010

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Trad Jazz legend with a collection of rare and sought after tracks for the first time on CD.

Bob Wallis fronted one of the most popular bands of the Trad era with two hit singles. The first CD of this two-for-the-price-of-one collection reissues his 'Everybody Loves Saturday Night' LP which made the album charts.

The band uniform of looking like Mississippi gamblers led to the band being dismissed by 'serious' Jazz pundits, but beneath the showbiz there was a group of talented players. Wallis himself was a hard-hitting Henry 'Red' Allen style player of considerable ability.

#This collection is based around two LPs: one made for the legendary independent label '77 Records' and the other a few months later for the more major Top Rank label. The '77' recordings show the band to be a rootsy New Orleans style band, but the other one reveals increasing sophistication in the approach and the material. Includes some previously unreleased material.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number LACD280
Barcode 5017116528026
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Le Reve Passe -
2. Down Home Rag -
3. Old Stack-O-Lee Blues -
4. Everybody Loves Saturday Night -
5. I'll Take You Home Again Kathleen -
6. Alla Turka; Savoy Blues (version 3) -
7. Where Shall I Be (When The Trumpet Sounds) -
8. Kansas City Man Blues -
9. Captain Morgan -
10. Sons OF The Brave -
11. L'Oiseau Bleu -
12. Savoy Blues (version 1) -
13. Dippermouth Blues -
14. Wabash Blues -
15. Panama; Big House Blues -
16. Chinatown My Chinatown -
17. Snag It -
18. I've Found A New Baby -
19. Maryland My Maryland -
20. Original Tuxedo Rag -
21. Royal Garden Blues -
22. Darkness On The Delta -
23. All The Girls Go Crazy -
24. St. Louis Blues -
25. Savoy Blues -