Across 110th Street: 40th Anniversary Edition (2CD)

Bobby Womack

of discs
Stock Status (?)
Temp Out Of Stock
Delivery Estimate
5-10 days
June 25, 2012

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


One of the few surviving links to the pre-Soul/R&B era, Bobby Womack, discovered as a teenager singing gospel music by the late Sam Cooke - nowadays enjoys full-blown "Living Legend" status. Blessed with one of the warmest, most readily-identifiable voices in Soul music, he carved out his reputation with a series of classic albums and singles in the early 70s.
This 2 disc deluxe digibook set package is built around his iconic, award-winning original soundtrack to Across 110th Street (1972), the critically-acclaimed - albeit violent, bloodthirsty and disturbing - Blaxploitation movie. Perhaps Womack's most celebrated album, this compelling OST remains the most important soundtrack of the genre, the powerful title song later featuring heavily in both Quentin Tarantino's 1997 homage to Blaxploitation, 'Jackie Brown', and Ridley Scott's 2007 opus, 'American Gangster'. The bonus disc features Womack's two subsequent LPs, Facts Of Life (1973) and Looking For A Love Again (1974). These three LPs include some of Womack's biggest hit singles, notably 'Across 110th Street', 'Nobody Wants You When You're Down And Out', the million-selling 'Lookin' For A Love', and 'You're Welcome, Stop On By'. Also featured are a number of Bobby's famously eccentric, unlikely cover versions, including Dylan's 'All Along The Watchtower', the Goffin & King classic, 'A Natural Man', and Bacharach & David's 'The Look Of Love'.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CHARLY648X
Barcode 0803415764822
Number of items 2
Imported No
Weight 138g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 15mm x 130mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Across 110th Street -
2. Harlem Clavinette (instrumental) -
3. If You Don’t Want My Love -
4. Hang On In There (instrumental) -
5. Quicksand -
6. Harlem Love Theme (instrumental) -
7. Across 110th Street (instrumental) -
8. Do It Right -
9. Hang On In There -
10. If You Don’t Want My Love (instrumental) -
11. Across 110th Street (part 2) -

Disc 2

Track Listing — Disc 2

Song Title Time
1. Nobody Wants You When You’re Down And Out -
2. I’m Through Trying To Prove My Love To You -
3. If You Can’t Give Her Love, Give Her Up -
4. That’s Heaven To Me -
5. Holdin’ On To My Baby’s Love/Nobody -
6. Fact Of Life / He’ll Be There When The Sun Goes Down -
7. Can’t Stop A Man In Love -
8. The Look Of Love -
9. Natural Man -
10. All Along The Watchtower -
11. Lookin’ For A Love -
12. I Don’t Wanna Be Hurt By Ya Love Again -
13. Doing It My Way -
14. Let It Hang Out -
15. Point Of No Return -
16. You’re Welcome, Stop On By -
17. You’re Messing Up A Good Thing -
18. Don’t Let Me Down -
19. Copper Kettle -
20. There’s One Thing That Beats Failing -