Wanderer (Ltd Autographed Art-Card)

Cara Dillon

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
Folk, Irish Folk
Charcoal Records
December 15, 2017

Format: Vinyl (LP)



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Cara Dillon, one of the most celebrated singers in Irish Folk music, announces the release of her brand new album Wanderer. For this, her seventh album, the award-winning singer once again collaborates with longtime musical partner, producer and husband Sam Lakeman to offer a collection of songs featuring intimate performances that capture some of her most moving vocal performances to date. Building upon a career based on folk songs rooted in time and place, Wanderer sees Cara delve deeper into the tradition, not finding reasons to circumvent it. The underlying theme being the movement of people, of emigration and the pursuit of love. It's a collection that speaks to Cara's fascination with songs of departure and the powerful desire to belong.

Each of the album's ten tracks feature beautifully sparse piano and acoustic guitar arrangements by Sam Lakeman, who also produces. His experience and expertise were both key in making this album stand apart from Cara's previous. It's warm and intimate; the mood is stripped back and relaxed; the songs are beautiful and full of space with every moment thoroughly self-assured. Guest performances by Kris Drever, John Smith, Justin Adams, Niall Murphy and Ben Nicholls provide modest and expressive backing, helping to make this a sincere and understated work of art.

Press Quotes

"Gorgeous homesick blues"


"...an astounding voice, beautiful production, sublime album. Unbelievable!"


“Her most reflective and most musically introspective album to date…it is arguably also the best of her career.”


“Cara Dillon is one of the finest vocals stylists in these islands - as gifted a singer as is currently recording anywhere”


More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number CHARLP009
Barcode 5052442012214
Number of items 1
Packaging type Slip Sleeve
Imported No
Weight 200g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 635mm x 3mm x 315mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 1

Song Title Time
1. The Tern And The Swallow 04:01:00
2. Blackwater Side 04:09:00
3. The Leaving Song 03:22:00
4. The Banks Of The Foyle 05:41:00
5. Both Sides The Tweed 03:49:00

Track Listing — Disc 1, Side 2

Song Title Time
1. Sailor Boy 03:46:00
2. The Faughan Side 05:12:00
3. The Baks Of The Bann 03:31:00
4. Lakeside Swans 04:57:00
5. Dubhdara 05:22:00