Na Pona Do Pe


of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
None Set
October 13, 2008

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Unique in the UK, Caratinga play acoustic music from Brazil's richest and most beautiful traditions: samba and its instrumental twin style choro. Playing samba and choro's traditional instruments such as bandolim (Brazilian mandolin), cavaquinho (the Brazilian ukelele), seven-string guitar and pandeiro (tambourine), Caratinga's superb lineup includes Anselmo Netto (Jazzinho, Hamish Stuart and others), Adriano Adewale (Netsayi Chigwendere, Antonio Forcione Quartet) and Idris Rahman (Soothsayers, Zoe Rahman group). With dazzling acoustic interplay, infectious rhythms and gorgeous songs from a century-long tradition of Brazilian music, Caratinga have delighted audiences at festivals, theatres and arts centres throughout the UK.
Caratinga's new release, their second, is a collection of five songs and six instrumentals, featuring seven original tracks alongside four newly created arrangements of songs by Chico Buarque, Ary Barroso, and others. Na Ponta do Pé translates as "on the point of the foot" - it's a Brazilian saying that expresses how the hottest samba is danced, how the most stylish football is played; it's where real "swing" comes from. From the knockout opening samba-choro through exuberant baião "Voa, Voa", from the gorgeous swaying samba of "Retalhos" to the lyrical "Sarau Para Um Viola", Caratinga's album is packed with stunning performances and unforgettable tunes.
Caratinga are touring in Autumn 2008.

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number FIRECD23
Barcode 5060051331954
Number of items 1
Packaging type Jewel Case
Imported No
Weight 100g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 142mm x 10mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Na Ponta Do Pé -
2. Voa, Voa -
3. Retalhos -
4. Enferrujado -
5. Samba Do Grande Amor -
6. Sarau Para Um Viola -
7. Na Baixa Do Sapateiro -
8. Baião-Di-Versity -
9. Chuvas Do Verão -
10. Vibracões -
11. Remexendo -
12. Valse à Manon -