Mosaic Of Disarray

Channel D

of discs
Stock Status (?)
In Stock
Delivery Estimate
2-5 days
4V Music
January 28, 2013

Format: Compact Disc



(Free delivery & returns within the UK)


Add to Wishlist


Add this product to your site


Nick de Grunwald has spent most of his career as a film-maker documenting other people's music, but now it's his turn to step up to the mic.

He's a music aficionado, producer of films on the Beatles, James Brown, Marvin Gaye and Ray Davies, and the creator and producer of the Classic Albums series. Capturing on film some of the most iconic moments in musical history, he has turned his hand to everything from Fleetwood Mac's 'Rumours', Paul Simon's 'Graceland', Pink Floyd's 'Dark Side of the Moon', and The Who's 'Who's Next' through to Nirvana's 'Nevermind', U2's 'The Joshua Tree' and Jay-Z's 'Reasonable Doubt'.

Using the moniker Channel D, vocalist and guitarist - flitting between both electric and acoustic the album is a kaleidoscopic record which showcases his bluesy baritone and lyrical prowess.

This sudden career about-turn was sparked off by a preoccupation with the conflict in the Middle East; Nick put his feelings about this painful divide to song, which unleashed an avalanche of creativity.

He played a selection of his songs to producer/engineer Chris Potter (Richard Ashcroft, The Feeling, The Verve) who strongly encouraged him, and who played a vital role introducing him to key musicians; the movers and shakers who put the meat on the bones of what culminated in 'Mosaic of Disarray'.

Nick's main collaborator on the record was multi-instrumentalist and engineer / co-Producer Tim Wills (Ian Brown, Seal). Over several months, Nick and Tim built relationships with a glittering array of musicians; drummer Geoff Holroyde (Dave Stewart, Chrissie Hynde, Annie Lennox, Robbie Williams), guitarist Patrick Murdoch (Chrissie Hynde, Mick Hucknall, Big Linda) backing vocalist Yvonne John Lewis (Zero 7, Roxy Music, Basement Jaxx, Sia) and saxophone player Andrew Ross (Matt Bianco, Roots Manuva, Just Jack, Olly Murs).

Press Quotes

"Nick De Grunwald (aka Channel D) doesn't entirely follow the script, and 'Music Of Disarray' is much better than it has any right to be. A half-spoken delivery, some angelic backing vocals (especially on 'Kick The Bucket'). worldly lyrics, no little panache and a surprisingly gritty edge make for a rewarding experience".

Q - John Aizlewood (3*)

More Info

Key Value
Catalogue number QVCD01
Barcode 5052442002031
Number of items 1
Packaging type Digipak
Imported No
Weight 70g
Dimensions (LxWxH) 140mm x 5mm x 125mm

Disc 1

Track Listing — Disc 1

Song Title Time
1. Channel D -
2. Politics -
3. Kick The Bucket -
4. No Happy Ever After -
5. Lazy Day -
6. Remember Me -
7. Wonder Window -
8. Diminishing Days -
9. Embers -
10. The Other -
11. Waiting For You -
12. Redemption -
13. Wondrous Times -